My Holy-Crap Moment of the Day

2 Jul

Versatile.

As an athlete it’s one of the best compliments you can receive. You feel like Michael Jordan, Steffi Graf, Derek Jeter, Annika Sorenstam, and Michael Phelps all wrapped up in one.

As a writer, it’s awesome. It means you got skills. Mad skills.  Jerry Seinfeld, Dennis Leary, Tina Fey, Nora Ephron, Chris Rock, J.J. Abrams kind of skills.

Versatility. Nice. Muy nice. And thanks to years of embarrassing moments, athletic achievements, childhood memories, kitchen Food Network recipe letdowns, mom meltdowns, crazy Guat family episodes, and an awesome three year-old and 11-month-old, I apparently have got it. I didn’t think I could win an award for putting all this craziness into words, but I did.

🙂

The fact that I got the award on a really crappy, drown yourself in misery kind of day was even better.  The Versatile Blogger Award became the Rocky Road ice cream moment of the day — wrapped up in fudge, whip cream, marshmallow topping, and nuts. Plenty of them. Getting this award was that good. It was my Holy-Crap! moment of the day.

So I would like to thank Another Day in Paradise for honoring me with this awesomeness. This little lady thoroughly enjoys life and gives you a taste of the journeys she takes traveling the world. Yes! The world. Not just Baja California people. She’s been on three separate continents and lets you enjoy the ride through her family stories, experiences, and awesome photographs. She puts my Canon Powershot to shame. So if you get a chance visit her blog.

Now, as the award requires here are seven little tid bits about The Guat … I strongly believe in the power of Rocky Road ice cream. I’m addicted to television, preferably FX, AMC, USA, and HBO. I’ve seen every episode of Jerry Seinfeld, probably twice. Despite my clumsiness and gravity challenged body I was athlete of the year two years in a row, back in my high school days. I have never successfully completed a Rachel Ray 30-minute meal in thirty minutes. I will dance in public if I hear my favorite jam on the radio, I’ve got moves. And finally … despite my awesomeness I am not a morning person, I’m big on the snooze button. But kids don’t have snooze buttons.

There was my seven.

And now … My peeps!

As with any award you need to pay it forward. You gotta show your peeps some love. So here are my nominees for The Versatile Blogger Award. Here are the peeps that embrace a variety of subjects, fields and skills. Here are peeps that make me laugh, smile, think, and wonder. Here are peeps that have mad skills, I hope you get a chance to visit their blogs.

Susie Lindau’s Wild Ride

Time to Write

Lame Adventures

Jodi Ambrose

Drinks Well With Others

Diary of a Quirky Girl

Bucket List Publications

The Blissful Adventurer

Mirth and Motivation

You’ve Been Hooked

15 Responses to “My Holy-Crap Moment of the Day”

  1. itssrijana July 3, 2012 at 1:02 AM #

    congrats and enjoy the fame 😉

    • The Guat July 4, 2012 at 12:17 AM #

      Thanks. I always appreciate gold stars. 🙂

  2. adinparadise July 3, 2012 at 1:28 AM #

    Hahaha. I’m so glad I could make your day, TG. Thanks for sharing your seven “tid bits.” Rocky Road does it for me too, but I have no idea what a Rachel Ray meal is. Sounds quite scary though. 😉 Thanks for the links to other bloggers with “mad skills.”

    • The Guat July 4, 2012 at 12:20 AM #

      Isn’t rocky road the best invention ever? Rachel Ray is some chick that comes out on the Food Network Channel. She’s famous for making “great” meals in 30 minutes or less and says you can do it too. Lies all lies…

  3. lameadventures July 3, 2012 at 8:24 AM #

    Hey Guat, thanks for the shout out and for including me in the company of so many excellent fellow and witty bloggers. I’m very flattered. You rock!

    • The Guat July 4, 2012 at 12:25 AM #

      You most definitely belong. Always sending props to my peeps 🙂

  4. Krystal Rose July 3, 2012 at 4:21 PM #

    Congratulations on your holy crap moment of the day! You deserve it! 😀 p.s. I loved your seven tidbits, especially the part about rocky road (hell yes!) and Seinfeld (also have seen every episode more than I can count). Keep up the good work!

    • The Guat July 4, 2012 at 12:27 AM #

      Oh yes! Rocky road and Seinfeld are a great combination together as well. Those episodes are always funny. I’m glad I’m not the only one that has watched them over and over again 🙂

  5. Cayman Thorn July 3, 2012 at 6:26 PM #

    You’ve become a ‘go to’ place for me. You rock a soulful bent to every post you drum us up there, Ms. Guat. It’s how you roll.

  6. eof737 July 3, 2012 at 8:29 PM #

    Congratulations on your award and thank you for adding my blog to your list… I appreciate the generous gesture. 🙂

  7. island traveler July 5, 2012 at 9:55 AM #

    Congratulations. You have a great blog that inspires people. Wishing you all the best!

  8. The Hook July 5, 2012 at 5:06 PM #

    Fantastic title! I have great respect for those bloggers who have mastered the art of the title… And you’re definitely one of the most worthy!
    Great work and thanks!

    • The Guat July 5, 2012 at 9:46 PM #

      Ahhhhhh. Thanks. I try to capture the essence of my post…sometimes I get good ones 🙂

Leave a comment