My Alex P. Keaton Family Ties Moment …

30 Apr

I realized I only had about four years left …

While everyone was fascinated with the planets and stars aligning on 2-22-22 it hit me … he’ll be gone in four years. Off on his next adventure into adulthood. And I felt that twang in my heart.

The little kid who liked bulldozers, Batman, choo-choo trains, and Wonder Pets. He’ll be gone. The one that reached for my hand as we walked across the street, with his tiny feet. That gave me pause.

It reminded me of an episode of Family Ties when Alex, Alex P. Keaton that is, was going away and his mom was having a hard time with it, the good-bye part. I remember the episode, I remember how she felt love and sad and hurt. I remember.

That’s on the horizon.

And it’s more than just Spring Breaks, Easter’s, Summer Escapes, Beach Staycations, and Saturday ball games to consider. It was mustache growing and height adjustments. It’s carne asada dinners that are on the countdown because I seem to have them numbered and that got to me. The everyday togetherness won’t be together.

I know it’s my job to prepare them for the world and educate them into being compassionate, hard-working, kind, smart, independent human beings. I got that. I know that’s at the top of my list but I had to take a minute there. I remember people telling me it’ll go by fast, the days will seem like forever when you’re changing diapers but the birthday candles will come and go quickly. And here I am nodding my head at comments I heard more than a decade ago, with four-plus years left, now the fast-forward button seems to be on.

I find myself wanting to hit the pause button. And I made a conscious effort to do that. I catch myself ready to steam up and holler when the not-listening phase extends itself multiple times throughout the day and we find ourselves rushing through, trying to get somewhere, and daily life making it harder for plans to work out smoothly.

The fire in frustration is what I’m working on as a parent. I want to be remembered for the Coach Taylor vibe I give off when I’m headed toward progress, not the hectic and stressed-out mom who’s constantly yelling at them to pick up they’re shoes, socks, cleats, or laundry off the floor and wondering when that extra common sense is gonna kick in.

I look at the grays in the mirror and try to be grateful for how I got them, because each comes with it’s own story, and one of the chapters is closing soon.

So I marked 2-22-22 as the opportunity to step it up a notch and try to increase the joy and venturing, because those four years will go by quick and then the kids will be making they’re own choices down their yellow brick road, their own gray hair adventures.

It’s been over a month now and although it’s been challenging and frustrating at times, I’m making that extra effort as the end result matters most. Filming a weekly log and leaving digital notes for them in the future is a surprise I hope they enjoy, as every day has an impact on what they feel. The countdown is on, it’s live and interactive. But not so much in counting the days and checking them off, but more so as my buddy would say … making the days count.

Buen Camino…

.

.

5 Responses to “My Alex P. Keaton Family Ties Moment …”

  1. beth May 1, 2022 at 3:54 AM #

    a wonderful recalibration and approach

    • The Guat May 1, 2022 at 10:15 PM #

      Thanks Beth. Recalibration. I like that word. That’s a good one 🙂

  2. Sorryless May 2, 2022 at 3:36 PM #

    You do this thing, this mama thing, so well. It’s not simply about the lessons you have imparted on them but the time, that . . . most of all, that. Because it’s the time that is moving us from one chapter to the next. It’s that time you both will get to look back on.

    You’re doing great. Better than great.

    • The Guat May 4, 2022 at 10:48 PM #

      Awwww thanks hermano appreciate the kind words …sometimes it feels like not as I try to contain the George Costanza serenity now vibes from time to time. But I hear you and a big thanks for that. Time, got to remember that one 🙂 Sunshine and waves to you.

  3. Island Traveler May 15, 2022 at 6:39 AM #

    It made me realized I have two more years left. Wonderful post full of love, Hope and dreams. Parenting is not easy but when our little ones have grown adulthood, our heart breaks and will always miss our children. Just like you, I’m trying to make the most as memorable as they can be. We can only hope we’ve shared with them all that is needed to be on their own. And that they have as many happy family memories to remind them how beautiful and good life is when things gets hard. Thank you for this inspiring post. Love it all.

Leave a comment