The Women of SOA … Are You Tara or Gemma?

11 Sep

I thought I was having a bad week, but being in prison and thinking your mother-in-law put you there … yeah that seems to raise it up a level.

Tara Knowles-Teller … Jax Teller‘s old lady.

Image via TVNetworks.com/SOA

Image via TVNetworks.com/SOA

For months, I’ve been dying to find out what the hell happened on Sons of Anarchy. I’ve been counting down for the awesome SOA party premiere … Guat Party of One. And I rocked it with my pot roast and baked potatoes. Food-Network worthy for sure.

But aside from my awesome spread, the show itself had me. It got me. I didn’t need ambiance to appreciate it, the love just grows as you watch and get attached to the lives of these people, because they change. They’re no longer characters … they’re people.

And even though I love looking at Jax (the amazing Charlie Hunnam), and hearing his awesome internal dialogue, which shares wisdom necessary to life as you know it, I was more interested in the women’s story line.

These are strong women.

Fierce.

Image via FXNetworks.com/SOA

Image via FXNetworks.com/SOA

Granted one is a crazy. Gemma, the mother-in-law who lies and manipulates her son and others in order to gain some sort of influence within the biker club. There is nothing this lady won’t do to keep her family close. And even though she’s crazy, I think that crazy suits her. The crazy comes from a weird caring, and loving place.

And she makes no apologies for her means to an end. Gemma is the matriarch that keeps them together, that’s how she envisions herself. She’s a woman of authority and respect. And the strength that comes from that doesn’t even have to come through violence, or threatening words, although for Gemma they do. However it’s her demeanor, her style, that is it strong and the love for her family only strengthens her resolve.

But we don’t all want to be the crazy kind of strong. We want other kinds. Sometimes the Tara kind.

Tara … she fell in love with Jax, her high-school flame and now president of SOA. And I loved the line from the Season 5 finale where she told Jax that part of being his old lady meant being strong when he wasn’t, and being able to make decisions that he couldn’t or wouldn’t do. Being able to recognize that characteristic put her on another level.

I liked that because she was right. I liked that even during rough circumstances, she knew the conversation with Jax was going to be uncomfortable, but she had it anyway. She stood her ground ready to take the kids and leave the biker town of Charming. She sensed that the cycle may start repeating itself, so she took a stand. Granted she was arrested right after that, but we all know she didn’t commit any kind of conspiracy to commit murder. And that whole lingering thought that Gemma made that happen definitely had my wheels spinning. Might have been the crazy strong driving her. But of course we find out who was really behind her arrest in the Season 6 premiere and all you can say is ‘Holy Crap!’

I admire that not all chicks on this show are weaker than their male counterparts. I enjoy that both of the female leads are badasses in their own way.

But I’d probably prefer Tara’s type of strength. It’s strong, vulnerable and smart. Although when life happens you really need your crazy Gemma strength on speed dial.

4 Responses to “The Women of SOA … Are You Tara or Gemma?”

  1. 1pointperspective September 12, 2013 at 3:08 AM #

    As a guy, I have to admit the show just hasn’t been the same since Opie was killed off.

    • The Guat September 12, 2013 at 9:12 AM #

      OH MY GOD! I couldn’t believe it when they killed him. I was in shock for like a month. Dude, I totally couldn’t believe it. In the season premiere Jax has Opie’s cut with him when he’s writing in his notebook to his sons. Definitely a holy crap moment when that happened and how it happened. Dude.

  2. TBM September 12, 2013 at 3:19 AM #

    I haven’t seen this show, but you have piqued my curiosity. Is there any pot roast left? I’m coming over.

    • The Guat September 14, 2013 at 7:15 PM #

      Duuuuuuuuuuuuuuude. You have to Netflix this … It’s a must to start at season 1 so that you can appreciate all the characters. And no…there was no pot roast left 🙂

Leave a Reply

