No … I’m Not The Rooftop Killer …

10 Mar

You make up all kinds of excuses just in case you were wrong.

Tom Hanks, sitting at the keyboard wondering what he can tell Meg Ryan, about why he didn’t show up to meet her at the coffee shop.

I had a flashback of this scene as I thought about coming back and writing a post. It’s been a minute since I’ve anonymously shared parts of my broken-but-continually-trying-to-fix-it life.

I haven’t shown up.

I hated when a WordPress buddy I really liked, one that I thought, “Hey you know, I’d probably be friends with the person in real life…” would just vanish. No final good-bye posts. No reason why they went on hiatus. Nothing. They left. Their time, sharing stories, was gone, and I’d feel a little … hmph … that sucks. I liked their stories. I liked participating in their life from far away.

Then it was me.

I became what I hated.

I left without good-bye.

But I had no idea I was taking a break, or that the break would last so long. Writing takes strength, discipline, openness, and many people don’t know that. And even when you do, you’re not always on track. My tanks were on echale. All of them. So, I ended up being the storyteller that left the party early.

Well to squash any doubts that you might have had about what could have possibly happened to me … No, I’m not the Rooftop Killer. No, I didn’t win the lottery. No, I wasn’t in a crazy romantic adventure John Hughes would write about ooof I wish. No, my project didn’t get picked up. No, I didn’t go on an awesome vacation. No, I didn’t get a publishing contract … Nope. None of those feel-good vibes came my way.

I got stuck in a moment that I couldn’t get out of … and it just kept going after that. Stumble after stumble. I was in a funk with adult responsibilities that didn’t allow for a break. So, I just kept going. Bit by bit. Trying to find my way back …

And so, I’m Tom Hanks. I left you at the coffee shop … latte for one.

Bringing back the highlight (and lowlight) reels. Catching up where the conversation was dropped.

But I’m returning like the Jedi … hopeful 🙂

And so now it’s still Feel Good 5 Friday, even if it’s just for a moment. I hold onto that moment tight because sometimes you don’t have many.

  1. Watching your kid score two goals from half-court, or what they call midfield I guess, in an All-Star soccer tournament … definitely felt good.
  2. Mandalorian Season 3 … I mean c’mon. It’s Mando.
  3. Two boxes of GirlScout Thinmint Cookies left in the freezer. Yes. Yes to all the chocolate. Yes.
  4. I have a dog, and he genuinely likes me. He’s a moody one-year bulldog who’s probably bilingual by now, and I KNOW he hears me, he just chooses to give me side-eye instead.

5. Mumford & Sons … this song … this song right here gets my inner Rocky Balboa going.

.

Buen Camino …

.

.

3 Responses to “No … I’m Not The Rooftop Killer …”

  1. Sorryless March 10, 2023 at 1:31 PM #

    Cali!

    Holy Mother of all Things Disco! You’re back and better than ever, with a lotta Latte and that super Grande dose of wit I have come to know and love. And nah, you didn’t leave anyone or anything . . you simply stepped back for a while because you had a thing called life happening.

    You’re back. That’s all that matters to me.

    And that song!

    Fuego!

    • The Guat March 11, 2023 at 10:37 PM #

      Mother of Disco … yeahhhh baby I like that 🙂 it’s GREAT to hear from you hermano. You make me smile. And you’re right life be happening! Ooof! But I’m still up, hanging tough in the 7th round 🙂 that song does rock, it’s helped me a lot. Glad you dig it 🙂 sending you sunshine and waves 🙂

      • Sorryless March 12, 2023 at 7:33 AM #

        It’s always good to read you chica.

Leave a comment