A New Discovery

24 Jun

All or Nothing.

It sat there on my list for a while and then in the middle of a Thursday night I decided to hit the play button.

Remarkable.

The amount of intensity, drive, and humility surprised me. I heard of it, but had never watched it before. The All Blacks changed everything.

The Haka alone is a mesmerizing part of their tradition. A moment of connecting to their past, to their culture, and to their present The Haka is a hallmark of New Zealand rugby.

The-Haka

The All Blacks performing The Haka

And the thing is they don’t do it for the cameras, or for the show, they do it for themselves, as a way to connect and prepare for the battle that is about to take place. I appreciated the connection and tradition.

I had no idea what rugby was about, but this series schooled me.

As far as sports documentaries go, this one changed my perspective. Rugby is a brutal sport, asking athletes to be warriors on the field, yet demanding that teamwork , heart, and unity be at the top of the list. What’s best for the team is a mentality that drives them all. Talented and humble. These are values I try to instill in my son and values I found among the All Blacks Rugby team from New Zealand.

Now I know there are rugby teams all over the world and they may share these values as well, but it was something about the All Blacks that drew me in. Just as the championship eras of the Boston Celtics, Los Angeles Lakers, and New York Yankees, the All Blacks seem to have  fierce following across New Zealand and the globe.

And I’ve just discovered them.

Now it wasn’t so much their domination of the sport, but the added down to Earth characteristic of these players and their heart that stood out. They’re there to win, no doubt about that, but what drives them is not letting their teammates down, not letting their families down. The unselfish play is necessary.

I wish they had more of that value present in other sports. I mean I know there are a lot of unselfish players out there in every sport, but the light rarely shines on them. It’s given to the players with flash. The click-bait.

I appreciated that talent, hard work, perseverance and team unity were central to this series. That even though it is an extremely intense, physically and mentally demanding sport, that character and team matter most. It’s give it your all. Leave it out there on the field. With The All Blacks it really is All or Nothing. There’s no in-between because you only got one shot to wear the jersey on game day.

I’ve only just scratched the surface and can’t wait what else I discover.

Buen Camino, my friends!

 

 

 

 

13 Responses to “A New Discovery”

  1. ksbeth June 25, 2018 at 4:47 AM #

    that’s an amazing tradition –

    • The Guat July 5, 2018 at 11:37 PM #

      I had no idea they did this. What an amazing team!

  2. Apple Pie & Napalm June 25, 2018 at 9:53 AM #

    I LOVE the Haka dance! The University of Hawaii football team does it before home games and the crowd goes nuts. It’s a powerful tradition. I’m trying to learn more about rugby, I didn’t realize it was so physical.

    • The Guat July 5, 2018 at 11:39 PM #

      Duuuuuuuude. I had no idea what the rules were or how many people were on a team, but this docu-series on The All Blacks had me from the first episode! That Haka Dance is so intense and pumped me up. I can only imagine what it’s like live!

  3. Sorryless June 25, 2018 at 10:06 AM #

    Guat,

    This sounds like a wonderful doc! I love docs, so thank you for the 411!

    • The Guat July 5, 2018 at 11:41 PM #

      Duuuuuuuuuuuuuuude it is an awesome docu-series. It got me hooked on the first episode. I am such a fan now. I knew rugby was a physical sport, but man the story behind these players, this team and the tradition was so amazing. Dude! I am a fan!

      • Sorryless July 6, 2018 at 5:56 AM #

        Now THAT is a testimonial!
        And yes, I am always amazed at the athletic prowess and strength of games such as soccer and rugby. Soccer because those dudes are running around for hours with few if any breaks and rugby because it challenges on every front.

    • The Guat July 5, 2018 at 11:41 PM #

      It was on Amazon Prime 🙂

  4. Jackie Cangro June 25, 2018 at 3:56 PM #

    Ha! I was watching this last night too. I have no idea what got me hooked — I have no interest in rugby, but it’s mesmerizing. 🙂

    • The Guat July 5, 2018 at 11:45 PM #

      I know right?!! It was on my watch list for a while and then one night I thought I’ll just check it out. Just one episode to see what it’s about. Dude! I finished it in two days! I was so hooked on this! I’m a big sports fan. Big! But rugby isn’t really big in The States but maaaaaaaaan. After watching this series I have so much respect and admiration for this team. I don’t know what it was that kept me watching it just hooked me. It might have been the Haka. I’m so glad someone else watched this and can relate to my excitement. I was so into it I had to post something.

      • Jackie Cangro July 7, 2018 at 6:50 PM #

        The Haka is pretty amazing. I’d be intimidated if I was on the other team!

        • The Guat July 24, 2018 at 8:39 AM #

          Duuuuuude I love it and the women’s team does it too. I had no idea they were coming to California for the championship had I known I would have totally bought tickets to see this live! Both men and women won the cup!

Leave a comment