More Super Soul Moments

1 Jan

This is it.

Everyone is talking about it.

The get-off your ass promises you make to yourself in order for this year to be less mediocre than the last.

And why not?

Change is good when you’ve had an Eat, Pray, Love kind of year, but without the awesome travel experiences and more George Costanza moments.

But it’s all good. Getting off your ass is important. It inspires stories, and as a writer I need some good comic relief. But I didn’t have to wait until January 1st to make changes or to get inspired for change. Living a life of I-can’t-believe-this-is-where-I-am sort of catapults you into wanting something different, or at least sticking to the dream you had when you were 20-something, on a weekly basis.

But not everybody needs change, some of you are freakin’ fantastic all year round, and that’s cool, but in truth I don’t fit that demographic. I’m just happy some of the time and when I am I’m swimming in it every minute. But I could always more.

So what’s the plan for more? What are my changes? What are my goals? What are my self-improvement projects?

SuperSoul

Image via OWN Network

Don’t have my entire list. I’m working on it. Although I don’t have anything to quit. I do everything in moderation except self-doubt. But I’m working on it. I did however have an epiphany during my girls night out. It was Super Soul Sunday! Except it was on a Thursday. Yeah. Super Soul Sunday on Thursday.

For those of you unaware Super Soul Sunday are awesome episodes of your-life-could-be-better-than-it-is-and-I’m-not-judging-you-but-here’s-how-you-can-improve-it-if-you-want-to. It has awesome quotes from Oprah and her many guests on the OWN Network. Their life stories end up affecting change in your own life story. It’s like free therapy.

Yeah. So I had one of those live and in person, but it wasn’t with Oprah, it was with a bunch of my college buds. And in truth, I really needed the outing, with all the stress of the I-can’t-believe-this-is-where-I-am-right-now  existence I’ve gotten some more gray hair and I’ve been perusing the anti-aging aisle at the CVS. They don’t have cream or Nice N’ Easy formula for “crappyness”. But they do have Ben & Jerry’s, and that cures any problem.

So I guess one of my plans, goals, self-improvement projects, or get-off-your-ass moments would be for more Super Soul Sunday Moments on any day with anyone. I mean it doesn’t have to be Oprah and it doesn’t have to be Sunday. It can even happen while binge watching Friday Night Lights on Netflix on a Tuesday.

Yeah.

That’s one goal. Definitely more Super Soul in my life.

The other is to always have more Ben & Jerry’s on hand, in case the Super Soul gets too deep and comedy can’t save me from drowning.

Happy New Year.

 

 

8 Responses to “More Super Soul Moments”

  1. lameadventures January 2, 2014 at 7:23 AM #

    Happy New Year Guat.

    Suggestion: rename your “get-off-your-ass moments” to Super Soul Any Day Moments. Meanwhile moments remain pretty Minor Soul for me, but at this stage, I take whatever I can get. In fact, I’m ecstatic that I can still tell time without drooling on myself.

    • The Guat January 4, 2014 at 10:46 AM #

      Duuuuuuuuuuuuuuude. That’s a good suggestion. When I’m feeling like I need tough love I’ll use get-off-your-ass moments, when I’m feeling normal I’ll rephrase and use Super Soul Any Day Moments. 🙂 Or even Minor Soul! Ha! You crack me up! Telling time … ha 🙂

  2. brickhousechick January 2, 2014 at 9:05 PM #

    I’ll have to check out Super Soul Sundays (is it like Soul Train?) LOL. It has been a pleasure getting to know you, Guat and I look forward to navigating this new year with you. Keep on swimming. 🙂

    • The Guat January 4, 2014 at 10:47 AM #

      It has that Soul Train groovy feeling except without Don Cornelius 🙂 It was so great to meet you and read about your adventure to 50, pretty funny. So glad we connected in non-stalker ways 🙂 and if you’re ever in So. Cal let me know 🙂

  3. Jackie Cangro January 4, 2014 at 6:37 PM #

    Ben and Jerry’s Chunky Monkey. ‘Nuf Said. 🙂

    • The Guat January 14, 2014 at 1:52 PM #

      That’s all it takes 🙂

  4. TBM January 6, 2014 at 8:46 AM #

    Damn, now I want Ben and Jerry’s. Why doesn’t the store across the street sell Ben and Jerry’s.

    Happy New Year Dude!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • The Guat January 14, 2014 at 1:54 PM #

      Duuuuuuuuuuuuude if I could ship it to you without melting I’d totally put a care package together. It cures everything. They should really sell it in the medicine aisle at the CVS … you know have a cooler and display. Happy belated New Year to you too!

Leave a Reply

