The Last Holy-Crap Moment of the Year

31 Dec

With glittery party hats on, noisemakers on hand, champagne glasses filled, beer cans being popped open, and chocolate being munched away, every part of the world counts down to the end of 2012. Sometimes New Year’s Eve is surprisingly great, fireworks spectacular and hugs galore. Sometimes it’s quiet, cozy, and nice. Other times it just sucks. Sucks. However it is that you celebrated, you’re there to say good-bye to your 365 day journey and begin another. Day one of possibilities.

But before my day one of possibilities begins I must share my last holy-crap moment of the year 2012. An unexpected moment … a little gold star.

Thanks you Hand Written Life

Thanks you  The Hand Written Life

Can you believe it?

No … no I can’t.

I know most people who get surprised for one reason or another and say they were utterly shocked are really full it. Utterly … that’s the key word. So not true because in the back of their mind they were hoping something spectacular would happen, so they kind of expected it. But I can honestly say I didn’t expect this blogging award. I’d seen it at a couple of other worthy sites and thought … yeah these blogs are awesome and worthy of this 2012 Blog of the Year Award. They take awesome pictures with fancy cameras, they travel and inspire others to do the same, they produce writing that’s worthy of a Freshly Pressed sighting.

Me … I have a banged up Canon PowerShot. I travel to the supermarket. And I try to transform my life’s lows into Saturday Night Live skits in Guat Style just so I can get through the day. I try to laugh. That’s what I do.

So I don’t know how I was honored  with this award, but I am extremely appreciative and humbled that Andrea over at The Hand Written Life thought that my little blog was worthy enough to be acknowledged for something like this. Have you met Andrea? She’s quite awesome herself. Other than making me laugh with her “Why I  Don’t Have a Boyfriend” series, she explores the creative world of television, books, and movies. I had no idea that you could have an arts and entertainment soul mate. But there she was posting good stories about music, television shows, and movies … she had me at hello. So thank you Andrea, I appreciate the honor and will be sure to pass it on to some other fantabulous bloggers whose work consistantly makes me laugh, think, and smile. Bloggers that inspire me. Bloggers that make me forget about the crappy day. You know … bloggers who are my chocolate … like you.

So who are my 2012 Bloggers of the Year?

This Man’s Journey  writes heartfelt pieces about family and life, and shares stories through the great Kodak moments captured on film. I always look forward to his Weekly Image of Life Challenges because they make me focus on the positives in my life. And not only does he inspire me to be better at whatever it is I’m doing whether it be with family, photography or writing, but he always inspires me to look out for the silver lining and sometimes when you’re down in the dumps that’s very helpful.

Drinks Well With Others cracks me up. There’s just no other way to say it. He’s awesome, he’s refreshing … like swimming in a river of 7-Up. Making people laugh is not an easy task, but he does it with such ease. And he’s not a one-dimensional, one-liner ha-ha blog either. He’s a genuine HA-HA-HA laughing on the inside and outside blog. He’s the all-knowing life guru that provides deep thoughts and a comic spin on life and whatever it may bring you. He shares his life and makes you feel glad you stopped by. He’s like a visit to Cheers. And when he visits you … Dude … you end up feeling like you’re a size 4, when really you’re just a Chapstick kind of girl whose size varies according to jean maker.

The Landy – Out and About brings adventure to my life. He’s the Down Under Adventurer who makes me feel like I can climb mountains, go water skiing, and kayaking all in one day. He brings the Aussie magic my way and reminds me of how awesome that country is and why I fell in love with it the first time I went out for a visit. He inspires me to go back, but he also inspires me to find adventure in my own neck of the woods.

Lame Adventures always makes me laughs. She’s one of the sharpest tools in the shed when it comes to satire and life. Maybe it’s because she’s from New York … could be. She’s one of the best writers I’ve encountered in the blogosphere and I am so glad to have found her at a virtual blog party hosted by Wild Rider Susie Lindau. Lame Adventure stories explore the daily grind, weekends at home, visits to the post office, air travel, theatre, family, friends and more. And with every topic she finds a way to put humor in the works. And when she visits you … forget about it. Those comments are not only awesome, but they crack me up. She’s funny even in her comments. I’m waiting for her book to come out so that I can meet her in person at a signing.

Patrick Latter Photography Patrick needs no words … his photos are that good. I never miss an opportunity to drop by and check out his work. He makes me want to buy a better camera and travel the world. But seeing how I’m a starving writer, I just have to make do with my Canon PowerShot, yearly vacations and constant visits to his website.

Those were my Usual Suspects. And I know what you’re thinking … I’ve heard some of these before. Yeah … I know. But sometimes you just can’t get enough awesome in your life. So start off your new year right, click the links and visit.

And for my blogger nominees … here are the rules/guidelines. I’m sure there were more rules, but they got lost in translation. I hope the CliffNotes version is acceptable.

1. Select the blog(s) you think deserve the ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award

2. Write a blog post and tell us about the blog(s) you have chosen – there’s no minimum or maximum number of blogs required – and ‘present’ them with their award.

3. Let the blog(s) you have chosen know that you have given them this award and share the ‘rules’ with them

4. You can now also join our Facebook group – click ‘like’ on this page ‘Blog of the Year 2012’ Award Facebook group and then you can share your blog with an even wider audience.

5. As a winner of the award – please add a link back to the blog that presented you with the award – and then proudly display the award on your blog and sidebar … and start collecting stars… As a winner of the award – please add a link back to the blog that presented you with the award – and then proudly display the award on your blog and sidebar … and start collecting stars…

Blog of the Year 6 stars

Unlike other awards which you can only add to your blog once – this award is different.

When you begin you will receive the ‘1 star’ award – and every time you are given the award by another blog – you can add another star.

There are a total of 6 stars to collect.

Which means that you can check out your favourite blogs – and even if they have already been given the award by someone else – you can still bestow it on them again and help them to reach the maximum 6 stars.

12 Responses to “The Last Holy-Crap Moment of the Year”

  1. lameadventures January 1, 2013 at 9:27 AM #

    First of all, Happy New Year on New Year’s Day proper, Guat. Second, thank you for the shout out, kind compliments and including me in such esteemed company (Patrick’s photos blow me away, too). Third, the rules of this award make my head spin like Linda Blair’s in “The Exorcist”, I don’t know how else to put it.

    • The Guat January 1, 2013 at 6:09 PM #

      Dude. Those rules are crazy and I left some of them out. It was just too much so you know me … I did it Guat style. And YES! Patrick’s photo’s are amazing. And you definitely deserve to be in his company. Happy New Year my friend

  2. susielindau January 2, 2013 at 11:32 AM #

    Congrats Guat and Happy New Year to you!

  3. Baz - The Landy January 2, 2013 at 6:53 PM #

    I am overwhelmingly flattered, thankyou very much for the nomination. If I can bring a little bit of my world, Australia, its people to the rest of the world, and people enjoy that, then I am very happy….

    • The Guat January 2, 2013 at 10:14 PM #

      OH! You so deserve it. I fell in love with your country in 2007. I’d always been interested in it since I was a kid and when I finally got a chance to visit in 2007 and your posts bring me back … way back. I love your Great Outdoors adventurous posts and your pics. You so deserve this award for the weekly inspiration you send my way all the way from Down Under. 🙂

  4. Cayman Thorn January 3, 2013 at 4:51 PM #

    Guat- You’re way too humble, but that’s always the case with the peeps who’ve got it going on. And lemme just say…you have a way with kudos. “Swimming in a river of 7-Up” would have been sensational all by its lonesome. And while I don’t know about ‘guru’, I do know that I’m grateful for having come across your blog. I’ll mosey up a response this weekend…some fine threaded words for mi amiga.
    Thank you.

    • The Guat January 5, 2013 at 11:58 PM #

      Thanks so much for the compliment, but it is you dude that so deserves to up here with a gold star. You’re a total guru don’t sell yourself short 🙂 You deserve this gold star and many others. Hope you’re having a great weekend.

  5. Island Traveler January 6, 2013 at 2:33 AM #

    Thank you for sharing your world. Your stories of life, love, adventures and family always bring sunshine and inspiration. It feels good to read about another parent’s perspective of what it means to be a parent, a spouse, a friend, an individual, of simply being human. Thank you for being a great part of my blogging journey for 2012. For being a generous blogger friend. Wishing you a 2013 full of blessings and everything amazing. Best wishes to your family.

    • The Guat January 7, 2013 at 10:08 AM #

      Thank you so much my friend. You have made this blogging adventure equally awesome for me and you so deserve this honor for all the inspiring posts of the past year. Can’t wait to see what you got next 🙂

  6. Island Traveler January 6, 2013 at 2:34 AM #

    Congratulations and wishing you all the best!

  7. Cayman Thorn January 6, 2013 at 10:06 AM #

    Guat- Gold stars all around, then. And I hope you won’t hold it against me for rooting on those hated Fighting Irish tomorrow night. I have to go with mom’s team, I just do.

    • The Guat January 7, 2013 at 10:06 AM #

      I won’t hold it against it … I’m a bigger person that way 🙂

Leave a comment