Archive | 11:59 PM

Daily Prompt Challenge: Me Time

15 Dec
Image via public-domain-photos.com

Image via public-domain-photos.com

 

For some people Saturday mornings would require a nice cup of coffee and the newspaper, sometimes sitting in your kitchen nook, other times hanging out at Starbucks.

However, the ideal Saturday morning for The Guat would entail not being woken up at four, six, and seven in the morning by a one-year old who has not mastered the concept of sleep. Then jumped on by a four-year old, who had no fear of gravity, who wants to watch Nickelodeon and the Sprout Channel on your television.

The ideal morning for The Guat requires “me time” … me time with a soft pillow, a warm comforter, a cozy bed, and a sound-proof room until nine in the morning. Nine. I’d like to sleep in until nine and then go for a nice swim. If I had a pool I’d go for a swim, but I don’t so traveling to the beach is the next best thing. To the beach, to eat a breakfast picnic by the ocean, and to relax to the sounds of my favorite music.

This did not happen today. Mom life hijacked the morning.

Saturday morning “me time” is an essential part of my existence that rarely gets practiced.

I’m gonna have to put it on the list. Perhaps I’ll have less gray hair.

 

Writing Challenge provided by Word Press Daily Prompt.