Gratitude With Diane Lane on Valentine’s Day

15 Feb

You know, I was never one for elaborate celebrations or grand gestures of love on Valentine’s Day. Don’t get me wrong, I still liked being the highlight of someone’s thoughts and getting some chocolate, or a nice card with hearts on it. I still liked knowing that I was on someone’s mind.

And I never made a huge deal of it so as not to put added pressure on whoever I was with at the time. But a card, a nice meal, some chocolate, some laughs, and a genuine hug that expressed heartfelt connection and intimacy was all I needed.

I look back now and remember times when I was younger and felt lonely, when grandiose productions of others professing their love made the loneliness bigger. I remember the Aquatnet days wanting that candy gram and plastic flower to be presented in class, you know, from that special someone. Now they have it on Facebook or Instagram for the whole world to witness this romanticism. Some people share just to be genuine and open up their book of life, letting us read a small page of it, others do it for showboating-look-at-me reasons, cheapening the heart and romance.

When you’re younger these things seem important.

But I realized how gratitude on Valentine’s Day is just as important as love.

I may not have gotten the red-carpet treatment, but I was able to share moments of life with people I loved. Babysitting for a friend over the weekend so that they could have some kid-less alone time and feel like normal people again made me smile. Getting a card with the best kindergarten spelling and Crayola Crayons masterpiece from my daughter filled my heart. Playing Valentine’s Bingo, cupid’s arrow, making kids at school smile and being helpful in my kids’ classroom hit the spot. Eating a steak dinner, I didn’t have to cook for myself brought a smile to my face. Finishing the night with a small band, playing some good tunes, while sipping a margarita felt nice. Ending the night with Haagen-Daasz chocolate ice cream and watching Netflix a definite plus.

A day and night filled with non-Facebook worthy moments, but special nevertheless.

During all this, I was reminded of Diane Lane in that movie Under The Tuscan Sun. I love Diane Lane. In the movie she talks about how she wanted a house, a home, dinner parties with family, being with people she loved, kids running around, laughter … that would have made her happy. Fast forward to the end of the movie when someone asks her if she remembered what she wanted when she first moved to Italy. Does she remember? She smiles as it hits her. She had a house, a home, dinner parties with people who had become her family, people she loved and that loved her, kids running around, not her kids but kids that brought her joy anyway, and laughter. She realized she had it. Happiness. They both smiled.

img_7024

🙂

Valentine’s became a day of gratitude, grateful for all the small acts of kindness and love that gave the sun more shine. It could have been a regular Tuesday for anybody, but it was my Valentine’s Day adventure, and I felt love from those that mattered most.

 

 

10 Responses to “Gratitude With Diane Lane on Valentine’s Day”

  1. susielindau February 15, 2017 at 12:28 PM #

    Woohoo! Sounds like a lovely day. I was just listening to Tim Ferriss talk to Mr. Mustache Man, (a guy who lives about ten miles away, but never heard of) about happiness and turned it off to read this blog. Money or lack thereof, has nothing to do with true happiness. It’s about the moment of enjoyment with someone you love, however big or small. Happy Valentine’s Day, one day late! ❤

    • The Guat February 21, 2017 at 2:04 AM #

      Mr. Mustache Man! I’m behind on that one. But the fact that you stopped listening to read this? Man! Definitely a compliment. Thanks so much! Super good. I listening to his lessons learned one and that was pretty insightful. Glad I did. He’s super inspiring and got good stories and advice. Thanks so much for the Valentine Love buddy. It was a good day, definitely grateful for that. Hope yours was good too! Awesome blog party you had there! That lady with her photographs was pretty great!

  2. bgddyjim February 15, 2017 at 1:21 PM #

    True story… I abso-freakin’-lutely LOVED the smell Aquanet! Used to dive me up a wall, loved it. Great post.

    • The Guat February 21, 2017 at 2:05 AM #

      Aquanet! Ha! The one in the pink and silver can. That was me. Ha! Too funny.

  3. Cayman Thorn February 15, 2017 at 6:11 PM #

    What a beautiful piece, Cali.

    And yes, the things you really need are always right there. It’s about the work, the stepping and the missteps. The hits you thought were misses. And when you get there, it’s about knowing that you’re right on time.

    I love this.

    PS- I love Diane Lane too.

    • The Guat February 21, 2017 at 2:07 AM #

      The stepping and the missteps! Yes. Definitely. It took me some time to realize to pay attention when I got there, but so glad I did and I am. I think Diane Lane and John Cusack help me out with that. 🙂 Love them. Thanks so much for your encouraging words. Hope your love day was a good one too, buddy.

  4. historyoftelephony February 16, 2017 at 7:27 AM #

    Yeah it is to bad that more people on facebook are just posting things to showboat instead of being actually happy and wanting other people to know about it. Thanks for the post.

    • The Guat February 21, 2017 at 2:11 AM #

      That’s something that drives me crazy, which is why I don’t go on there much, but I’ve learned to sift through the genuine from the fake. It just wears me out though. Hope you had a good though. Thanks for reading.

  5. anotherday2paradise February 16, 2017 at 7:21 PM #

    Lovely post, TG. 🙂 Your Valentine’s Day sounds awesome. xx

    • The Guat February 21, 2017 at 2:08 AM #

      Thanks so much! I hope yours was a good one too! I’ve got to stop by and check out your pics!

Leave a comment