Archive | 9:46 PM

Unbalanced …

3 Feb

Two days … I think it was my record.

I’d never been sucked into such a drama before and been so upset after watching it. I couldn’t believe it.

I. Couldn’t. Eeeeeeeeeven.

Dude … if you haven’t seen it, you probably should. Although I wouldn’t recommend the up-until-2 a.m.-binge-watching session. Take it easy if you can, but I doubt that you will because you look at the level of shady people handling the situation and you’re like no way, no way.

No way this still happens.

You think to yourself that common sense and justice would prevail but you’re left wondering, what the hell?

Yeah … in case you haven’t figured it out I’m talking about the Netflix Documentary Series Making A Murder.

making-a-murderer

I don’t want to spoil the drama for you, but all I can say is that it’s gonna blow your mind and you’ll end up with all these twists and turns wondering what happened? I mean are you freakin’ kidding me? What is going on down in Wisconsin?

All I will tell you is that it’s the story of Steven Avery, a man who was wrongfully imprisoned for 18 years for a crime he didn’t commit. After he’s exonerated he is then accused of another crime two years later … when he’s in the middle of suing the county for millions. The series covers the arrest, prosecution, and trial.

And it blows your mind.

But apparently I couldn’t get enough of this Whodunnit? type of series where searching for the truth was as complicated as working on The X-Files. Although if people had common sense … dude the truth would surface a lot faster.

But the binge didn’t stop there … I discovered a podcast … Serial. It uncovers the story behind what happens during a murder trial … the day, the process, the witnesses of one case … piece by piece.

These stories had me so intrigued and so vested that it only took me two days and major lack of sleep to discover the facts and the end. And I wasn’t interested for gossip’s sake or sensationalism, it was more the story and the people. The truth! I wanted to know the truth, I wanted to know for sure. I wanted to know what happened. I wanted to be done with all these shades of gray. I wanted answers for this, just as much as the people involved did. But nothing is ever easy.

The this-can-happen-to-you situation, that’s what really got me. I mean probably not, really. But you never know, wrong place, wrong time and you could find yourself on the other side of that table in Interview Room 1.

These real life stories, man they left me speechless. Frustrated and speechless, which was why I had to take a couple of days before writing about it. But I felt the need to share these stories so that you could hear about them and just decide for yourselves.

Does the system still work? I know it’s flawed, but it’s not supposed to be this flawed, right? Reasonable doubt. Innocence. Guilt. There’s supposed to be some balance. But there’s still supposed to be truth, but you realize a lot of people lie.

I don’t know, man. I don’t know. But I’m feeling pretty unbalanced now, unbalanced and wondering how the truth can get so buried.

.