Fourth of July Sprinkle-Worthy Moments

4 Jul

All you want to do on the Fourth of July is live like a character featured in an amazing line of a great country song sang by Garth Brooks, The Zac Brown Band, Tim McGraw, Allan Jackson, George Strait, Blake Shelton, Sugarland, Faith Hill or Trisha Yearwood.

You want barbeques, family, good times, good music, tasty drinks, relaxation, fireworks and a moment of appreciation for the soldiers out there in the world.

You wanted Zen moments on a hot summer day.

The top five things you did not want …

5. You did not want to go to the market for the third time in one day because someone forgot the tomatoes.

4. You did not want to spend time scrubbing toilets in the afternoon.

3. You did not want to go to your in-laws.

2. You did not want a cranky toddler who was in full-blown crazy mode for two hours because someone “forgot” when her nap time was while they were at their parents’ house … the same nap time she’s had for the past three years. The same.

1. You didn’t want to come home to find someone in your family had cooked 10 out of the 12 burgers in a frying pan … on the stove. Not on the grill … you know the BBQ grill.

You needed a life-preserver because this day was looking nothing like a country song.

Who or what saved it in the end?

Being able to still watch the matinée showing of Earth to Echo with my son.

Being able to eat a hamburger … the one cooked on the grill.

My iTunes playlist that featured Five O’Clock Somewhere at exactly the right time.

Cold Framboise.

Kids with sparklers and glow in the dark neon glow sticks.

Ben & Jerry’s.

Chocolate and vanilla cupcakes with buttercream frosting and patriotic sprinkles.

 

:)

🙂

 

Hope your Fourth of July had sprinkle-worthy moments.

🙂

 

 

10 Responses to “Fourth of July Sprinkle-Worthy Moments”

  1. Mabel Kwong July 4, 2014 at 11:32 PM #

    Happy 4th! Those cupcakes look delicious. I really, really want one know… mmmm 🙂

    • The Guat July 8, 2014 at 12:33 AM #

      Dude they were soooooooo tasty and totally turned that day around … I had like six of them it was too ridiculous. It’s like I couldn’t control myself.

  2. peacelovegreatcountrymusic July 4, 2014 at 11:43 PM #

    Dude, that’s like the best playlist maybe ever. You need to do some playlists posts here. I should not be having all the fun and I cannot preserve decent music all by myself.

    • The Guat July 8, 2014 at 12:31 AM #

      Dude. Isn’t it? So glad you think so. That comment totally made my day because you are my country music expert and for you to like my playlist … dude. Nice. 🙂

  3. bgddyjim July 5, 2014 at 3:29 AM #

    Best Fourth I can remember. Had more fun that the government recommends. Glad yours was so good too.

    • The Guat July 8, 2014 at 12:31 AM #

      Thanks it started out rocky, but ended well. Good food and good music does that 🙂

  4. lameadventures July 5, 2014 at 6:00 PM #

    Those cupcakes look Guatastic. Did you bake them yourself from scratch?

    • The Guat July 8, 2014 at 12:27 AM #

      Duuuuuuuuuuuude thanks! I ate like six of them. It was ridiculous. And yes! I baked those from scratch and they were awesome. I was just high-fiving myself all day as was my son. I was on a cupcake kick for the last two weeks because I was testing all these recipe for the kids birthday party coming up and I totally found the one. 🙂

  5. Cayman Thorn July 6, 2014 at 6:42 AM #

    Being as you are my weekend warrior on all things tread and kick butt, I will pluck from the sporting vernacular. The day was a marathon, not a sprint. And your last leg got ‘er done! As for those cupcakes, you had me at butter cream.

    • The Guat July 8, 2014 at 12:29 AM #

      Dude it was a total marathon … and let me tell you I hate marathons, I’m not a big fan of running either, but I do it because it totally takes my mind off of crappy stuff. But there I was … running all day. Felt like I almost hit the wall … Thank God for those cupcakes and Allan Jackson 🙂

Leave a Reply

