A-HA! … The Stumbler Blew Me Away

8 May

They sneak up on you when you’re not looking. They blow your mind. And I love that!

They’re like power surges that give you the extra boost to make that cosmic shift or they realign your perspective. And the moment stops you and you zone out the chaos of the Nickelodeon population you are in charge of and you sit there and go … A-ha!

Yup.

I had me one of those today.

I had an A-ha moment.

Sometimes I find them in movies, television, books, Super Soul Sunday Moments with my girls or hanging with my kids. They’re random and never planned, but they hit me when I need it. And I share an unlimited amount of gratitude with the universe for placing it in my path.

Today’s mind-blowing thought came from my blogging buddy Jackie Cangro who posted one her awesome Friday Fives posts. Jackie does this from time to time … she puts something up there that’s of particular interest to her and just like that! There’s a power shift and I get all Zen.

Today Jackie introduced me to The Moral Bucket List by David Brooks and I rediscovered the concept of Eulogy Virtues and Resume Virtues. As Brooks explains, eulogy virtues are the qualities people talk about at your funeral, the resume ones are the skills you bring to the work force.

I’d been introduced to them before, but like everyone else things get put on hold while you’re trying to catch up with life. But I was reminded that while I’m chasing my dreams and “external achievements” I’ve got to remember to keep my sense of “unfakeable inner virtue” in this career-driven bubble. I may not be there yet in terms of achievement, but I’ve got “unfakeable inner virute” and that’s a big part of my character and a promising quality to keep cultivating with what Brooks calls moral and spiritual accomplishments … A.K.A. The Moral Bucket List, which he fully described and proceeded to wow me. It was a whole another level. My favorite point, the one that hit home the most, was the stumbler philosophy …

The stumbler doesn’t build her life by being better than others, but by being better than she used to be …

Duuuuuuuuuude that’s when my mind was blown. The Stumbler.

Jackie you rock.

.

.

3 Responses to “A-HA! … The Stumbler Blew Me Away”

  1. Cayman Thorn May 9, 2015 at 2:34 AM #

    I love that quote. So true.

    You definitely have that unfakeable inner virtue going strong. Character is a tough thing to come by anymore, but you’re all about it.

    Thanks for sharing the moment, Cali.

  2. Jackie Cangro May 9, 2015 at 6:58 AM #

    No, you rock! 🙂

    It’s so cool when something that is meaningful to me becomes meaningful to others too. I love that you’re passing it on. Maybe it will be meaningful to someone else.

    Thanks for sharing!

    • The Guat May 14, 2015 at 10:14 AM #

      Ha, ha. thanks. But Duuuuuuude I can’t tell you the amount of sparks you’ve ignited over here with your awesomely worded essays, posts, lists, and ideas. Keep them coming.

Leave a comment