Archive | 10:37 AM

The Bowl of Lucky Charms Had To Wait on Saturday Morning

6 Oct

I never met a kid who wasn’t a morning person on a Saturday at the crack of dawn.

Especially in the 80s.

We sprang out of bed with our crazy hair, and plopped ourselves in front of the television. The bowl of Lucky Charms had to wait. Our time was precious. It was limited. We only had a few hours to catch our favorite characters and their adventures, and laugh.

It was a special time when all else was quiet and everybody was snoring in bed. It was a time we had to ourselves and it was awesome.

And the thing is we didn’t have much. We didn’t need much. We only had seven. Seven channels and no remote control. And that was it. No TiVo no DVR no Internet.

And that’s all we needed.

To some people that might seem out of the ordinary, surreal even, but for me it was everyday life, and I loved waking up, hanging out in my pajamas, and losing myself in the funnies of cartoon life.

I was reminded of this Guat childhood memory this past weekend  when I heard that the Saturday morning cartoon ritual on prime time television ended. But I guess that would make sense with Nick Jr., Disney Jr., The Cartoon Network, and The Sprout Channel providing a cartoon extravaganza all day. It makes sense, I guess. Business sense.

But to me, there was nothing like waking up at the crack of dawn to watch your favorites because that was the only chance you were gonna get. The only opportunity and you made the most of it. So in memory of my Guat childhood here is my top ten Saturday morning cartoon lineup.

 

Mighty Mouse

.

.

 

 

Superfriends

super-friends

 

 

Super Chicken

.

.

 

Wacky Races

.

.

 

 

Fat Albert

.

.

 

 

School House Rock

.

.

 

 

Bugs Bunny and the Looney Tunes

.

.

 

 

Scooby Doo

.

.

 

 

Woody Woodpecker

.

.

 

 

Felix The Cat

.

.