Archive | 11:59 PM

But I Do Look Forward To …

31 Oct

I like Halloween, I really do. But as a parent there are some things I’ve found to be intolerable during this year’s Spooky Season.

I don’t look forward to waiting in line for forty minutes in order to see my kid in his elementary school Halloween parade.

I don’t look forward to having some mom in yoga pants get out of the comfort of her minivan and cut in line like it’s something normal.

I don’t look forward to being surround by the PTA Nazis and being assaulted with their stink eye during my parental enthusiasm when my son walked by.

I don’t look forward to parents invading my personal space with their 4000 zoom Private Investigator camera lens. You should have waited in line to get a better spot.

I don’t look forward to the crowded streets and congested roads of my small neighborhood during Halloween traffic. I already have Southern California traffic, Halloween happens to add a whole new dimension to it.

I don’t look forward to sorting out candy and finding Candy Corn.

I don’t look forward to the battle of bed time after the Kit Kat, M&M’s, Hershey, Reses Pieces, and Mr. Goodbar extravaganza.

But I do look forward to …

 

... Striking your best Superhero pose

… Striking your best Superhero pose.

 

... Watching It's The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown with my kids every year.

… And watching It’s The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown with my kids every year. I like having tradition.