But I Do Look Forward To …

31 Oct

I like Halloween, I really do. But as a parent there are some things I’ve found to be intolerable during this year’s Spooky Season.

I don’t look forward to waiting in line for forty minutes in order to see my kid in his elementary school Halloween parade.

I don’t look forward to having some mom in yoga pants get out of the comfort of her minivan and cut in line like it’s something normal.

I don’t look forward to being surround by the PTA Nazis and being assaulted with their stink eye during my parental enthusiasm when my son walked by.

I don’t look forward to parents invading my personal space with their 4000 zoom Private Investigator camera lens. You should have waited in line to get a better spot.

I don’t look forward to the crowded streets and congested roads of my small neighborhood during Halloween traffic. I already have Southern California traffic, Halloween happens to add a whole new dimension to it.

I don’t look forward to sorting out candy and finding Candy Corn.

I don’t look forward to the battle of bed time after the Kit Kat, M&M’s, Hershey, Reses Pieces, and Mr. Goodbar extravaganza.

But I do look forward to …

 

... Striking your best Superhero pose

… Striking your best Superhero pose.

 

... Watching It's The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown with my kids every year.

… And watching It’s The Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown with my kids every year. I like having tradition.

 

 

13 Responses to “But I Do Look Forward To …”

  1. TBM November 1, 2013 at 3:10 AM #

    I miss watching The Great Pumpkin. I need to buy all of them since I can’t seem to find them on the telly here.

    • The Guat November 13, 2013 at 2:18 PM #

      It’s one of my favorite parts, because it reminds me when I was younger and watched the very same show right before Halloween. Very cool.

  2. The Hook November 1, 2013 at 10:29 AM #

    At least you have your priorities straight. Good for you!

    • The Guat November 13, 2013 at 2:20 PM #

      Ha! Thanks. Yeah I’m glad I did something right that day.

  3. Island Traveler November 1, 2013 at 11:58 AM #

    Happy Halloween my friend. Bet it was a combination of fun, screaming and laughter, sugar high jumps and cozy family night with Charlie Brown. I had to work of Halloween night so I woke up at 0300 so my son can do his Trick or treating at Bass Pro. I felt like a zombie at work not even 4 cups of coffee can cure.

    • The Guat November 13, 2013 at 2:22 PM #

      Sorry you had to work that day and I know how much fun Halloween can be for father and son, but that Bass Pro post you did was super awesome and I’m sure it made up for it. No wonder you were on a coffee rush.

  4. lameadventures November 1, 2013 at 5:36 PM #

    I looked up candy corn on Wikipedia: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Candy_corn. I’s hard to say which tooth rotting, crown popping, terrible tasting confection I hate more, that or gummy bears. I think both cross the finish line simultaneously in the race for Worst Candy Ever Invented.

    Great picture of the small fry in costume!

    • The Guat November 13, 2013 at 2:24 PM #

      Yeah I’m not a big fan of candy corn, but apparently some people like to experiment as last year Oreos came out with a special Candy Corn edition. Dude. I had no words. And that picture cracked me up.

      • lameadventures November 13, 2013 at 3:46 PM #

        You might have no words but I have a question: did you like it?

      • The Guat November 13, 2013 at 10:33 PM #

        Duuuuuuude I didn’t even try it! But I guess I should have just to be positive. What a chicken, but I didn’t think my teeth could take the damage.

      • lameadventures November 14, 2013 at 5:01 AM #

        Phew! Glad to know that we remain on the same page!

  5. Cayman Thorn November 3, 2013 at 8:14 AM #

    I rediscovered my love for the 100 grand candy bars this Halloween season. I’m behaving myself, so I’ll have my stash for a while. I did, however, overdose on horror movies. My electric bill will be evidence of that……

    • The Guat November 13, 2013 at 2:26 PM #

      Dude! I had forgotten about the 100 Grand, I’m usually on a Twix and KitKat scramble. Very tasty. And I’m sure you’re not the only one who overdosed on horror for Halloween. 🙂 But I wasn’t one of them, those horror flix freak me out. 🙂

Leave a Reply

