Motivation Mondays: The Three-Legged Dog

27 Feb

Putting things in perspective becomes extremely difficult when you’re at rock bottom. You forget to ask the right questions because raw emotions tear into your being. You’ve finished three pints of Ben & Jerry’s and still find that there’s need for more.

I’ve been in these situations more times than I thought possible, as the Universe keeps “building” my character, but it took me until my mid-thirties to be able to find perspective at a faster pace. Before that, the anger, frustration, and hopelessness of the situation would stick with me for a while before I could flip the switch,  learn the lesson, or ask the right question. I have failed on all kinds of levels, multi-faceted levels, in every aspect of my life from writing, parenthood, love, and friendships, to self-discovery. I haven’t met someone who hasn’t failed yet, although I can think of a few who say they haven’t failed at all and just hide it well.

But I don’t point it out to them. No need. Some people just want to keep their lessons to themselves. All good. I don’t necessarily wear a sign and promote things myself, but I don’t really hide from failures, disappointments, betrayals, disasters, or gut-wrenching losses.

And it’s not that I don’t care, or I don’t get embarrassed, I just realized that when something like that happens, I can find my way through the messy truth. The emotions are still there and they’re still painful, whenever I fall on my own, or have been pushed down the most jagged cliff on Earth by someone I know or don’t know, but I stand up a lot faster. Broken bones and all.

I tend not to forget this turnaround lesson, this approach to finding my way back, because I’ve had so much practice, but I was recently reminded about perspective last week.

You see here …

 

This dog was racing through the open field. Jumping around. I swore he was smiling. Totally. Now normally you would think so what, right? Not a big deal.

But Maxie is a three-legged dog. Three-legged. I had only seen that once before and it blew my mind at how carefree and spirited he was sprinting through the grass just enjoying time. Now most dogs don’t really have problems, but this one. Yeah I’d say he has something to complain about, but he wasn’t, at least not when I saw him. He was sprinting like Hussein Bolt.

He was carpe all over that diem. His perspective was different. So I had to introduce myself and the owners were gracious enough to let me snap his picture. Maxie had that good mojo and meeting him was one of the highlights of my week. I got some of that feel-good feeling, that sunshine-in-my-pocket kind of feeling. It was good to get a reminder, even if I didn’t need one.

Buen Camino.

 

 

10 Responses to “Motivation Mondays: The Three-Legged Dog”

  1. susielindau February 28, 2017 at 7:54 AM #

    It’s all in the perspective! It’s hard when we’re in it. I bet that three-legged dog had his moments too. I think it’s all about “being” and letting life happen. We have very little control no matter how hard we try. Some storms pass and some last, but either way, they have to happen. It’s up to us to decide when to look up at the sunshine. A little California metaphor for you!

    • The Guat March 18, 2017 at 12:02 AM #

      Duuuuuude he totally brought perspective in by storm! It was so awesome to see this little dude. It was a great just to see him in the present and be all sunshine, granted he probably has his lows but he was living up the highs that day. For sure.

  2. Cayman Thorn February 28, 2017 at 3:51 PM #

    Love your take on perspective, and I love the way perspective introduced itself to you on this day. Go Maxie! And go you! And I absolutely LOVE that line . .”He was carpe all over that diem”. Beautiful, just beautiful.

    Blessings Cali

    • The Guat March 18, 2017 at 12:07 AM #

      Dude! It was crazy. I was just on the run and bam! He came out of nowhere just sunshine rocking that open field and smiling that doggie smile, rocking those three legs and not having a problem. He was like, this is me people, and I’m loving it today. Carpe. Ha! So glad you liked that line, I was feeling it! I was like Maxie … you’re going in The Jar of Awesome!

  3. historyoftelephony March 1, 2017 at 7:12 AM #

    My good friend has a 3 legged dog named Euros. He is always moving around and does not let his missing leg stop him from having a good time. It is also crazy to see how fast he can move around with a missing leg. Thanks for the post.

    • The Guat March 18, 2017 at 12:10 AM #

      Duuuude how great is that?! Euros. Love it! Isn’t it great how they’re just having a good time, they’re like this is me people, no worries about the leg, I’m still chasing this squirrel and running at high speeds through the grass. I was loving his sense of life. So cool.

  4. anotherday2paradise March 1, 2017 at 8:44 AM #

    Sweet little doggie. I’ve seen three-legged dogs who get around just fine. I suppose it’s easier to manage without a leg if you had four to start with, than if you only had two. 🙂

    • The Guat March 18, 2017 at 12:12 AM #

      Dude you’re the second person that’s told me that they’ve seen a three-legged dog before! Dude he totally blew me away. I was like Man! This dog rocks! He was just so happy and totally into living it up on that grass and hanging with his bud. I was totally inspired!

  5. Damaria Senne March 17, 2017 at 8:53 AM #

    Thank you for the reminder that perspective is key. I used to think I would wait until my life was perfect to enjoy, but now I realise it’s a waste of time. This is my life – the good bits and the challenging bits, and not finding joy in life because it’s not perfect is writing off big chunks of my life, which would be a pity.

    • The Guat March 17, 2017 at 11:24 PM #

      Duuuuuuude! Yes! That is so true. I was on that same path before I had kids and now everything just falls into place. The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly and we take it in stride. 🙂

Leave a Reply

