Motivation Mondays: The Upside To The Downside

23 Jan

I started off Saturday morning parking five long blocks away from the Metro station and putting my best parallel parking skills to the test — the kind where you have to turn down the music and high-five yourself when you finally turn the engine off.

As I got to the station the sight of the massive crowd made some people turn back, either changing their travel plans or just changing their plans for the day.

train

🙂

 

But I saw an opportunity to move forward. Inch by inch onto the platform, linked arm in arm with women I had just met on my way to meet my Comadres of a lifetime. We started off as strangers on a train and but walked through the sliding doors knowing each other’s names and purpose, and wishing each other luck as we stepped forward into our future.

 

Civic engagement used to come every election, but now the grassroots movement on this side of town continues to be strong, especially around particular issues important to people, whether it be education, women’s rights, health care, or the environment. Everyone was speaking for something that mattered to them.

It  was moving to see so many women come together and peacefully unite for a cause. I was even prouder to be part of a country-wide effort that brought worldwide attention to this cause. Thousands upon thousands of people throughout the country … in New York, Atlanta, Boston, Seattle, Miami, Chicago, multiple cities throughout the world engaged. Everyone is watching.

Those that were apathetic  became more vigilant of their future and the potential dangers out there, and those that are passionate find ways to engage more people and continue inspiring others.

Marching with 750,000 people in favor of women’s rights made me feel certain during uncertain times. I left knowing what Gloria Steinem called “The Upside to the Downside,” and this was just step one.

 

 

3 Responses to “Motivation Mondays: The Upside To The Downside”

  1. bgddyjim January 24, 2017 at 1:13 AM #

    It’s good to see what happens to dissent from a Thursday to a Friday.

    On a Thursday, dissent sexist, racist, and homophobic. On Friday it was right back to being patriotic. Whew! A lot can happen in 24 short hours in America!

    My wife marched too. 😉

  2. susielindau January 24, 2017 at 12:30 PM #

    I’m glad you participated! I’ve been sick for a week, but probably would have been in the mountains skiing. I didn’t realize marches would occur everywhere, including the smallest of towns. This event became a movement! You are the coolest, Guat.

    • The Guat February 21, 2017 at 1:30 AM #

      What’s up Susie! This was such a great day and sorry for the late reply for some reason I thought I had replied to you. I’m catching up on my comments 🙂 It was such a cool and inspiring day full of hope and action. Definitely felt like I was part of the movement of something bigger, so glad the feeling is still with me today … weeks later 🙂 Thanks for reading girl!

Leave a Reply

