Weekly Photo Challenge: Names

9 Jan

 

 

 

Creating memories and then bottling them up so that you can pull them out on rainy days when it’s pouring down on you, becomes a memory itself.

I like the fact that my kids enjoy the outdoors and were given an opportunity by the National Parks Service to hold on to that special something. I like that dreams and outdoor adventures can be captured in mason jars and kept For The Record.

I like the fact that my kids can say that one right there … that one is mine … it has my name on it.

 

 

 

Weekly Photo Challenge Courtesy of The Daily Post

 

11 Responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Names”

  1. Dentler Erdmann January 10, 2017 at 2:20 AM #

    I got a kick out of the jar reference! Probably the two most famous jars are Ball and Kerr. Kerr graduated from Belmont. When we had our big all-years reunion in ’83, Kerr donated 2,000 jars. We used them instead of plastic bags for the freebies (e.g. Tommy’s pens). I had a chance to talk to Kerr to thank him for the jars. I asked about he “mason” reference. I asked him if he had sold the company to Mason. He laughed a bit and explained that “mason” refers to the mouth of the jar. A mason jar is a wide-mouth jar like the ones you have pictures.

    • The Guat January 11, 2017 at 11:08 PM #

      Ha!! I love it! I love how every time you visit I learn something new. Belmont graduates are awesome 🙂 I’m gonna have to look up this Kerr dude. Always good to hear from you.

  2. Cayman Thorn January 10, 2017 at 5:36 AM #

    You always have a feel good sentiment to gift us, I dig it hermana.

    • The Guat January 11, 2017 at 11:11 PM #

      So glad. I’m trying to send out those feel good vibes, God knows we’re gonna need them this year for sure! I loved this project so much and was glad my kids enjoyed it. Thought the idea was so uplifting I’d pass it on. Buen Camino my friend 🙂

  3. The Good Greatsby January 10, 2017 at 8:13 AM #

    I like that idea. I have jars of sand from different beaches around the world sitting across my desk. I’d like for my kids to create something similar.

    • The Guat January 11, 2017 at 11:14 PM #

      Sand from different beaches sounds so cool. I love that! Feels like you have some magic encapsulated in there and can tap into good vibes when needed. Oh! And my kids really enjoyed this project, it was fun seeing the different parts of nature they remembered and liked from the same trip.

      • The Good Greatsby January 12, 2017 at 5:39 AM #

        I love to pour a little sand into my hands and rub it between my fingers. It’s a great feeling.

  4. susielindau January 11, 2017 at 8:27 PM #

    I love this idea! Memory in a jar. I’ll have to make one after my next trip to Cali!!

    • The Guat January 11, 2017 at 11:15 PM #

      Duuuuuuuude yes! It’s a total must. A California memory jar. Sounds better than a postcard 🙂

  5. waterdove February 5, 2017 at 5:53 PM #

    Lovely

    • The Guat February 21, 2017 at 2:13 AM #

      Thanks so much! It was great adventure.

Leave a Reply

