Getting Through The Twilight Zone

6 Jan

A night of smiles, laughter, celebration, and pride. A night of feel-good feelings to be remembered all year long never happened.

I turned to Plan B ready to find the silver lining, to have a good night despite the bad taste in my mouth. A quiet night of resurgence that included a comeback story waiting to happen was foiled by a bad conversation that exhausted my being. The DMV-clerk-type-of encounter … that kind of exhausting.

Bad conversation people you just need to stop.

I mean do you hear yourselves when you talk? I feel like I’m trapped in the Twilight Zone, the Pig Nose episode where nothing makes sense. This circular logic of bad conversations does nothing for my sanity, it makes me sigh louder and rub my face harder.

So I zoned out. The rest of the words, I chose not to hear them, I just let them think what they wanted to think. I let them have the last word because that’s what mattered to people like this … having the last word. It’s a power thing I guess.

I had given up the possibility of a rational conversation when I came to the conclusion that I could not say anything to make this person see the light and change their mind. Normal people might say … hey why don’t you say how they make you feel, even though you tried and tried and tried different approaches, why don’t you try again until they hear you?

To which my reply would be … there are no hearing aids sophisticated enough to improve these listening skills.

Some people are just permanent residents of the Twilight Zone.

So after a couple pieces of chocolate failed to remove the funk hanging over me I closed my eyes for  a bit and imagined that the A-Team was really real. I tried to think of a way to contact them, but remembered newspaper circulation is down.

And so I closed my eyes and thought of Plan C to help turn things around and during this meditative state, I remembered a moment in the day. I saw the sun hitting the outdoor skating rink and my orange skates cutting through the ice. I swayed from side to side and found the magic. I remembered Bruno Mars and Andy Grammer blasting through the outdoor speakers.

I closed my eyes and remembered that.

I was grateful for it. I thought I felt that magic today despite knowing what the night was supposed to be. Then after a bad conversation … I was still able to close my eyes and see the smile on my face while a zig-zagged on the ice. I had one moment today … today when I thought I would not have any … I had at least one and it carried me through the Twilight Zone.

Buen Camino my friends.

 

 

 

8 Responses to “Getting Through The Twilight Zone”

  1. bgddyjim January 7, 2017 at 3:43 AM #

    Dude, you get a hold of the A Team through Craigslist now. Back to your post (still reading).

    • The Guat January 11, 2017 at 11:19 PM #

      Craigslist! Ha! I should have known. Awesome.

      • bgddyjim January 12, 2017 at 12:01 AM #

        😉

  2. bgddyjim January 7, 2017 at 3:48 AM #

    I had one of those conversations on New Year’s Eve night! I feel your pain.

    • The Guat January 11, 2017 at 11:20 PM #

      Dude. New Year’s is tough.

  3. Cayman Thorn January 8, 2017 at 1:23 PM #

    There’s no talking to some people, sooo, it’s best if you don’t.

    You chose peace, hermana. Always the right way to go. Always.

    Peace and love to you.

    • The Guat January 11, 2017 at 11:18 PM #

      Duuuuuuuude I definitely needed peace and love. Dude! Those conversations totally tried to strangle my spirit. There is no talking to some people you just have to walk away for your own peace and love. Thanks brother.

      • Cayman Thorn January 12, 2017 at 4:33 AM #

        Walk away, yep. Nothing good will come of getting into it. I had to learn this lesson over many, many years, lol.

Leave a Reply

