Everyday Balloons Rockin’ 2017

1 Jan

I saw that number one on my phone calendar after the clock struck midnight.

img_6963

Everyone probably saw it on their phones but the impact was different. It wasn’t a massive tsunami of emotion washing over me, more like a rippled water effect felt by skipping stones on a lake. A quiet peaceful a-ha moment in the midst of fireworks and celebrations.

It was a good revelation.

I entered the New Year with hugs and kisses from kids, music in the background, and fireworks from a distant celebration booming through our windows. Found some Big Magic in that space between our arms.

And then I remembered …

I mastered finding the Big Magic that hides in corners even when toxicity surrounded me  like a bad cold. I found the ninja skills it took to get to “The Juice,” that thing that I feel like bottling up after an awesome Gatorade-worthy moment. I found ways to hit the reset button and find peace when it was missing. I found the funny in 2016.

I’m gonna need me some more of that.

And it’s funny because all of that is what I set out to do and I was glad to be able to have done it. Some people don’t bother with lists, 2.0 Versions, or improvement projects. No resolutions and I get it. Lists suck sometimes. But all I’m trying to do, is do better than I did the year before, and I found that every year something new has helped me reach those goals.

This year Muay Thai Boxing helped me wake up like Clark Kent and leave like Superman …  got out of bed with my super strength and cape … ready to go. New energy. New vibe. New perspective.

I was Flawsome and it was awesome. I never knew my uppercut, left hook, and speed could knock someone’s lights out! I mean watch out if you try anything in the Target parking lot because my Marty McFly  appearance will fool you. And I like that. I like that people underestimate me. It’s amusing to see.  I like that 2016 had that surprise in store for me.

I like that I found a new adventure, that I tried something and it enhanced my life.

I like that I had new writing projects. Two this year, and even though they didn’t pan out, as you all know the downfall of my play,  I still found pages in the Silver Lining Playbook to help me out I still found stories. I still found the lesson and the funny, even though it sucked to do so sometimes.

So what’s in store for 2017?

I’d like to find more balloons.

kramer

🙂 I LOVE Kramer. 

 

I like that Kramer embraces his FLAWSOMENESS. I like that he has everyday balloons.

That’s me … that’s what I want for 2017 … everyday balloons. I want to find reasons for the positive side of things when the day sucks, because I imagine stuff on a National scale will suck, but I’m hoping for hope. I’m hoping for a resurgence … like Rogue One.

I’m hoping that I find the gratitude and grace in things so that I can celebrate with stuff like Everyday Balloons.

As a parent I’ve got to have Everyday Balloons because failure and exhaustion hit hard on Friday nights, or any day of the week for that matter. Gray hairs, Vitamin D Supplements, and anti-aging cream should be celebrated. I’ve earned it.

As a member of a family deserving of their on Telemundo Telenovela, I’m distancing myself and removing all toxicity. I’m not standing for it any longer. If you don’t like my peaches … don’t shake my tree. If you’re not on board with Everyday Balloons then this ride is not for you, I’m pulling over and letting you out. I’m a fighter, I’ve remained unbroken no matter the environment, resilient. But I find it’s better when good-times-noodle-salad vibes surround you. My Big Magic pockets are getting bigger.

As a writer I need Everyday Balloons, for those times when I sit there daydreaming and wonder what I’ve been doing for the past 37 minutes, with only a paragraph on the page … I can give myself an Everyday Balloon for getting something written down and enhancing the outline nestled somewhere in my thoughts.

 

Everyday Balloons shouldn’t take away the glitter and shininess of New Year’s Eve balloons, but they should just serve as a reminder that little victories are still accomplishments and a high-five is deserved. With humor and gratitude I’ll be looking for little victories in 2017, in between a new adventure, I’ll be looking for Everyday Balloon moments.

Buen Camino my friends.

 

 

8 Responses to “Everyday Balloons Rockin’ 2017”

  1. Kitty Opal January 2, 2017 at 12:51 AM #

    I think this is a great idea. Celebrate the little victories. I think I shall join you in this 🙂

    • The Guat January 11, 2017 at 11:46 PM #

      Duuuuuuuude celebrating the little things! Yes don’t know why I hadn’t made that an item on my to-do list. I knew I did it from time to time, but focusing on that on a daily basis is awesome. Kramer, I love him. Kramerica Industries rocks.

  2. Cayman Thorn January 3, 2017 at 2:47 AM #

    Cali,

    I didn’t realize you were such an ass kicker, literally speaking. I mean, I knew you kicked ass in every other kind of way.

    Love the everyday balloons theme. And while I’m sorry to hear about your family situation and how you are looking to distance yourself from some of that toxicity, I completely understand what you’re talking about. I felt horrible about myself when I did so a few years back, but I know it was necessary.

    Anyways, to more writing projects in 2017. To meeting the challenges head on, or fists first. Wishing you health and happiness.

    Happy 2017.

    • The Guat January 11, 2017 at 11:32 PM #

      Duuuude I’m seriously rolling in the Cayman Peace and Love vibe and I’m loving it! I had an idea of my ass-kicking abilities, but dude those upper cut and hook combos … I don’t know man I wouldn’t want to be the person who underestimates me 🙂 and thanks for the good vibes and everyday balloons in my effort to remove toxicity. It’s killer when it’s family but sometimes for your own peace and love you’ve got to rise up. Wishing you the best in 2017 brother … Health, happiness, hugs, and laughter. Buen Camino my friend.

  3. aandj8804 January 4, 2017 at 3:25 PM #

    Yay for “everyday balloons”! I have a tendency toward slight depression (like life isn’t the way I imagined it would be when I was a kid, I’m not where I want to be in life, etc, etc…) and it always helps me to think about the little things in life, on a day to day basis, that have made me even the tiniest smidge happier. Like a kind word, a smile from a stranger, getting a single thing accomplished. Life can be overwhelming and stressful leaving a person feeling sad and depleted. It’s nice at the end of the day to say “x and y happened and that makes me happy”. 🙂

    Hope that 2017 is wonderful for you and full of “everyday balloons”!

    • The Guat January 11, 2017 at 11:43 PM #

      Duuuuuuuude thanks so much! So glad you could relate to my everyday balloons. I loved that idea and thought it would be great to bring with me in 2017. So far it’s paid off. If I can get a smidge of happiness during the day then I’m clinging to with everything I got! Here’s hoping for a healthy and happy 2017 for you. Thanks for hang out to read.

  4. Dentler Erdmann January 5, 2017 at 2:23 PM #

    Hi, Kid . . .and a Happy New Year. That skipping stones across the lake is called “dapping.” Hey, I dapped most of my growing year in Texas but didn’t learn the word “dapping” until many, many yars later!

    • The Guat January 11, 2017 at 11:38 PM #

      I love it Erdie! Dapping. I had no idea, but so glad I do now, I can stroll around with his new information and let my kids in on this info. So when they go back to school one day they can say … ‘Oh yeah we were dapping at the lake’ and their teachers would be like can you believe these kids? Ha! Love it! Happy New Year!! Hope it’s looking good so far 🙂

Leave a Reply

