Writer Wednesdays …

2 Nov

There wasn’t just one, but two reasons …

Telling stories and making people feel.

I was reminded of my two favorite aspects of being a writer just recently. I wasn’t even looking for it, but the reasons came and I was super grateful that they did. Sometimes during writer’s block or a daydreaming marathon, where you only get one sentence on the page, you might lose your way for a minute, especially with the Madness of NanoWriMo in full effect. You get lost as to what your favorite part of being a writer is when the discipline of it all drives you to exhaustion during a word count check for the NanoWriMo marathon of November.

So I was humbled by the words that came my way from a young lady I have yet to meet, but she was kind enough to stop by and let me know what my stories had done for her. Anna over at Anna’s Rambles decided to stop by on a Writer Wednesday to explore some of my Insecure Writer’s Support Group posts and she found a little something I was hoping someone would find.

Hope and encouragement.

Some of my stories had touched her in some way and I was happy to know that my writing had made someone feeeeeeeeeeeeeeeel something so much that they found encouragement and hope to continue writing themselves.

Writers often second guess themselves and are probably their toughest critics, I know I am. So when I get this kind of feedback, it’s very rewarding to know that my instincts were right all along. I don’t write for gold stars or pats on the back, although they are pretty awesome to receive and I welcome them whenever they knock on my door. But I write the stories so that my voice can be heard, so that people can feel, either by relating to, understanding, or realizing that someone else once felt what they felt. They were there, where you are now.

I write so that when I’m long gone, my kids can one day say they knew who I was and they felt my heart because I always put it out on the page. Funny. Sad. Frustrated. Angry. Ecstatic. Heartbroken. Proud. They’ll know me even when I’m gone, because my stories will still be around, on the page, in photo albums, or in their hearts, still connecting to them.

The people down at the Insecure Writer’s Support Group asked what’s the best aspect of being a writer? My response …

Telling stories and making people feel.

Thanks for the reminder, Anna.

Buen Camino.

 

 

 

 

8 Responses to “Writer Wednesdays …”

  1. bgddyjim November 3, 2016 at 1:38 AM #

    You are definitely deft at eliciting emotions with your writing. You have an awesome way of pulling people into your world and it is awesome.

    • The Guat November 22, 2016 at 12:23 AM #

      Thanks so much! I really appreciate the kind words and glad my stories are out there being read and heard. Glad they’re connecting with people.

  2. Tamara Narayan November 3, 2016 at 8:03 AM #

    Great answer. My favorite books are the ones that made me feel something. I hope my writing does that for someone someday.

    • The Guat November 22, 2016 at 12:35 AM #

      Thanks so much. I totally agree with you, I want my writing to have touched somebody and have them say yes! She knows how I feel, she gets it. That’s always a feel-good moment. Plus on the other side of that, I love it when I read a book and I’m at the end and it’s so awesomely amazing that I reread the last page to try to keep that feeling.

  3. Dentler Erdmann November 3, 2016 at 8:59 AM #

    Good read! Good write! Good story! I don’t know Anna and will probably never meet her, but I like hr!

    • The Guat November 22, 2016 at 12:21 AM #

      She was definitely awesome. Thanks for stopping by, it’s always good to hear form you. 🙂 I’ve been in a slump but I’m back at it.

  4. Kelsie Engen November 3, 2016 at 2:15 PM #

    I can agree with those reasons! I think at some level, all writers have to aim for those results–whether or not we reach them is an entirely different thing! 😉 But I’ll probably spend my lifetime attempting to grasp the ability to tell good stories and make my reader feel what I want them to feel!

    • The Guat November 22, 2016 at 12:32 AM #

      Everyone wants to be able to connect with at least someone or have someone say ‘hey I read your piece and I know exactly how that feels! I could totally relate.’ Yup. I’m aiming for that on a daily basis. Buen Camino fellow storyteller.

Leave a Reply

