Writer Wednesday’s

5 Oct

So how do you know when it’s over?

Like any relationship … you know, because there’s that tiny quivering feeling in the pit of your stomach letting you in on the secret, letting you know that the end is near.

After weeks of sleepless nights and Costco-sweat-wearing days, there’s a big exhale when I type THE END. It takes me a longgggggggg time to get there and sometimes I wonder if I’ll ever see the finish line.

Doubt. Anxiety. Insecurity. They all creep up on me during the entire process. Never sure if it’s going to be good enough. Never sure if people are going to relate. Never sure if people are going to laugh. Never sure if people are going to keep reading. Never sure whether to send it out. Never sure if it’s going to pay off. Never sure if the daydreaming I’m doing today is gonna pan out in the story tomorrow. Never sure of a lot of things, but once I get past all these inner voices (as well as the outer voices who think I should just get a “real” job) and I get to the end, I know.

I do, because I feeeeeeeeeeeeeel it. Definitely.

There’s closure.

Stuff that’s necessarily missing from my current existence, I find in my made up world. My character, dead or alive, has come full circle. A messy and dramatic one, with multiple post visits to a shrink included, but never the less an adventure that has come to an end. It isn’t to say that another adventure isn’t waiting for them tomorrow, it’s just that the adventure they started with me, the day I was day-dreaming it up has finished.

So I put on a new pair of Costco sweatpants, and dig into my messy life archives and see if there’s another story that’s ready for the page.

Not everybody feels it, not everybody goes through the Costco sweatpants phase, everyone has a different journey. Difficult and emotionally exhausting, but we all get there in the end and high fives are a requirement.

 

 

3 Responses to “Writer Wednesday’s”

  1. susielindau October 6, 2016 at 11:44 AM #

    Congrats on finishing! I went through a few pair of sweat pants. After almost five years and tons of edits, I feel like it’s done…. I think…. Okay, so it won’t be completely done until it’s in print.

  2. Dentler Erdmann October 6, 2016 at 7:48 PM #

    Anel, I’m usually on board with all that you write, but this one confuses me a bit.

    • The Guat October 8, 2016 at 5:45 PM #

      Ha! So funny I forgot to include a bit of info on this one … It was a response to a question posted to writers about the struggles of finishing a project, when do you know when it’s reeeeeeeally done. Too funny. Thanks for reading though 🙂

Leave a Reply

