22 … I’m Up For It, Are You?

2 Sep

Are you up for the challenge?

22 pushups a day. That’s all it takes. Sweating for a good cause to raise awareness about a topic that not many talk about but should.

Mental health. It effects every decision you make, from how you breathe, to whether you get out of bed in the morning and go outside, to handling business at work. Mental health issues effect us all, but today I’m talking about how they effect our veterans.

I learned about the challenge through one of the looooooooves of my life Jax Teller.

Sigh.

He rarely posts anything on social media, but had something to say about the suicide statistic regarding veterans. On average about 22 veterans are killed by suicide a day. When I heard that I couldn’t believe it! 22.

Raising awareness for mental health issues that lead to suicide is something I think is extremely important. Being able to educate ourselves, talk about it, and understand the problems and triggers that lead to thoughts of suicide can help someone change their course. Spreading awareness, education, and compassion can lead to change.

So are you up for it?

IMG_5857

🙂

I am.

This week I became part of the initiative trying to spread the word about #22Pushups and help the organization reach 22 million pushups. Every little bit helps. All of this in order to honor those who served and raise awareness for veteran suicide prevention.

22 pushups a day … for 22 consecutive days.

You got this.

 

 

7 Responses to “22 … I’m Up For It, Are You?”

  1. ksbeth September 3, 2016 at 2:54 AM #

    and i will begin –

    • The Guat September 3, 2016 at 3:16 PM #

      YES! Love it make sure to include #22PushUps or #22PushUpChallenge on your social media and a pic or video so they can add you to the count! Great cause! Thanks for sweating it up. 🙂

      Hers the site 🙂

      https://www.22kill.com/22-honor-pushups

  2. Cayman Thorn September 3, 2016 at 6:44 AM #

    Yet another reason to dig Charlie Hunnam. He’s not a slave to social media AND he picks his spots perfectly when he does make an appearance.

    Great cause, Cali. I’m not one for “challenges” usually, but this one is in my wheelhouse seeing as how I do push ups and sit ups already. So I’m in, and thank you, and Charlie, I mean . . Jax, rules. Kudos for bringing attention to a cause, a real and important one.

    Peace and pushups.

    • The Guat September 3, 2016 at 3:22 PM #

      Duuuuuude he just keeps giving me reasons to love him. It’s definitely a great cause, so feel the burn Cayman 🙂 and spread awareness. I knew you’d be up for something like this.

      Just remember to include #22PushUps on your social media so that they can add your push-ups to the count 🙂 #22PushUpChallenge Awesome Cayman thanks for joining the cause 🙂

      https://www.22kill.com/22-honor-pushups

  3. susielindau September 3, 2016 at 8:27 AM #

    Cool! I’m down for the 22 day challenge! I used to work at the VA Hospital as an illustrator. Being mentally healthy means everything. That’s a shocking statistic.

    • The Guat September 3, 2016 at 3:26 PM #

      Wild Rider is up for it! I knew you’d bust out your Bionic Woman skills flex your muscles for this awesome cause. The statistic was super shocking. So I’m helping to spread the word. Thanks for joining 🙂 just remember to include the #22PushUps on your social media along with video/pic so that they can pic add your push-ups to the count 🙂 AWESOME. #22PushUpChallenge

      https://www.22kill.com/22-honor-pushups

      • susielindau September 4, 2016 at 6:25 AM #

        The only thing they’re missing is a donation site to help vets.

Leave a Reply

