He Knew The LOOOOOVE That I Loved

29 Aug

I know you’ve been in love, the gut wrenching, aching in your bones, 80’s Movie kind of love that blinds you into taking a leap of faith — a plunge — because when you’re young you believe in the power of teenage, college, or in-your-20’s love.

It’s unbreakable.

So when the break-up happened, by your locker, after school, or on the phone with the 50-foot curly extension chord you used to pull all the way from the avocado-green wall phone in the kitchen and into the closet for “privacy,” it blindsided you.

There you were laid out on the floor, in agony, crying the slow cry, the I-can’t-breathe-right-now cry, the ugly cry, the hyperventilating cry, the silent cry. You suffered through in an epic way. And you’re there, alone. You know “others” who had broken up, but did they really understand?

No. No they didn’t.

Phil Collins got the picture. For sure.

But, there was one guy that really understood. He was feeeeeeeeling me. He got me. This dude … Man he kneewwwwwww what I was feeling. He knew the kind of love that I loved. He knew my heartache and when I listened I was like … Yeah … He knows exactly! He knows exactly what I’m going through and it was like I was having a conversation with him.

Juan Gabriel.

 

 

Legend.

Icon.

Now if you are one of my peoples there is no need for introductions. Juanga was the man. So when he passed away on Sunday morning, I felt it. Huge loss to me and my community. I never met him, but sure felt like he knew me deeply, personally with the songs he wrote about my love life, or the songs I wanted someone to invent because of me.

However I was lucky enough to have gone to some of his concerts throughout the years, stand up in the aisle dance, clap and sing, even luckier that I went to one just a couple of months ago. Amazing.

But for those of you not familiar with him, he was the Elvis Presley, Prince, and Michael Jackson of Mexico. Sold over 100 million… Yeah million albums and wrote close to 2000 songs.

He was The Man, and he passed away unexpectedly at the age off 66 from a heart attack.

And so I’m sad about that, about losing someone so talented with such heartfelt emotion, truth, and humility. I didn’t even know him, but it hits me because I connected with him through music. Someone who understood my heartbreak, he knew, he sang about it. He testified really. He knew the loooooooooove that I loved and so it was sad to say goodbye.

So in his honor, it was a Juan Gabriel mixed tape marathon on Sunday, with multiple text message exchanges between girlfriends who were just as shocked and broken up about his death. In our disbelief we tried to comfort each other and talk through our sadness. As I listened to my favorites I thought I’d try to narrow it down to The Top Ten … I know, almost 2,000 songs. He really needs a top 100. But I tried.

So I encourage you … If you’ve ever been in looooooooooove love, click and take listen. He’s got my stories in there, probably yours too.

Rest In Peace Juanga.

 

Hasta Que Te Conoci (Until I Met You…)

 

 

Quien Como Tu (Someone Like You) Written by Juan Gabriel sung by Ana Gabriel

 

 

Siempre En Mi Mente (Always On My Mind)

 

 

No Tengo Dinero (I Got No Money)

 

El Noa, Noa

 

Inocente Pobre Amigo (My Poor Innocent Friend)

 

Asi Fue (That’s How It Goes)

 

Porque Me Haces Llorar (Why Do You Make Me Cry)

 

Se Me Olvido Otra Vez ( I Forgot Again)

 

Querida (Dear) … This one gets me every time …

 

Bonus Tracks … of course. Always need a bonus track…

He Venido a Pedirte Perdon (I Came to Ask For Your Forgiveness)

 

Buenos Dias Senor Sol (Good Morning Mr. Sun)

 

Pero Que Necesidad

 

Buen Camino my friends.

3 Responses to “He Knew The LOOOOOVE That I Loved”

  1. Dentler Erdmann August 29, 2016 at 6:00 PM #

    Anel, you have never been better! What a great tribute! What a great blog! I repeat . . .you have never been better. Erdmann

  2. anotherday2paradise August 31, 2016 at 9:27 AM #

    Lovely tribute, TG. This world is bidding farewell to far too many entertainment ‘greats’ this year.

  3. Cayman Thorn August 31, 2016 at 12:16 PM #

    I learned about Juan Gabriel’s passing on Univision, and while, admittedly, I was not as versed a fan as you, it wasn’t long before I understood the impact of his music and the gravity of his loss. A musical legend, another one, inside a year that has been unforgiving in the taking of them.

    This is why the blogosphere is so unique. Because you can find a post like this, full of truth and humanity and an education provided through the memories of a girl in love.

    Beautiful tribute, Guat.

Leave a Reply

