It’s Possible … Every Four Years

17 Aug

I hadn’t planned on it happening … but it did.

I’ve fallen off the WordPress wagon.

I’d like to say that it  was because of some amazing opportunity that has whisked me away, but no … not yet. And it’s not procrastination either as I wish I had extra time for procrastination itself.

No.

It’s been the epic involvement of watching Michael Phelps, Nathan Adrian, Simone Biles, Aly Raisman, and every volleyball match in existence. I’ve been pumped up with this Olympic coverage and suspended all Netflix watching. I’ve gotten so carried away that I’ve forgot to post on Monday.

rio-olympics

I’m aware that some people are so over it, but I’m not one of those people. I’m in awe of the fact that it took these people four years of sunrise and sunset dedication to get to where they are, some even longer. Whether it’s the podium, crossing the finish line, or touching the ball for a game-winning point that type of determination and sacrifice requires my full attention.

I admire that stuff in people, and like hearing about their journey. I enjoy watching the last shot, the clock winding down, or that stretch to the finish. I stand up, cheering like they can hear me. I get so excited to see their dreams come true that watching it happen, keeps the “It’s Possible” mentality alive.

They had big dreams four years ago with doubters, haters, and believers along for the ride. And in these last couple of weeks they’ve made it happen. They got there.

Believing in “it’s possible,” is always the first step. It’s an encouraging environment to be around, to watch.

It gets the writer in me juiced up. Seeing their dreams come true, to be at The Games, always inspires me to keep going, to keep the “it’s possible,” mantra at the forefront.

Four years … sunrise to sunset … thinking about your dream and making things happen in order to get there. That’s the kind of stuff writers are made of too. Although we don’t have a cheering section or medals, we still dream and work, even though some people consider daydreaming not part of the job. It is … it’s what keeps the possibilities alive.

Four years.

Setting my sights high for four years.

 

 

3 Responses to “It’s Possible … Every Four Years”

  1. irinadim August 17, 2016 at 11:42 PM #

    Best of luck with bringing your dreams to fruition. Inspirational post. Cheers, Irina

    • The Guat November 26, 2016 at 12:19 AM #

      I was just checking my comments and just found your comment in the “Pending” folder. I am so sorry to have gotten to it so late! I had no idea it was there and I extremely appreciate it when people like yourself take the time to read and comment on my stuff. I’m so glad to have inspired something in you with my Olympic post. The swim team does that for me. So I’m chugging along hoping to reach that writer’s podium. Thanks for stopping by! Buen Camino.

      • irinadim November 26, 2016 at 3:31 AM #

        No problem. It’s hard to keep track of every comment, especially if one posts a lot. Cheers 🙂 Irina

Leave a Reply

