House Of Sports

8 Aug

Morgan Freeman is back and I’m listening.

He makes me want to be an Olympian … just so he can narrate my life.

I don’t know if The Olympics are big at your house but they sure bring my family together morning, noon, and night. We get pumped over here, so when someone feels a lack of enthusiasm I must remind them that I come from a House of Sports.

Now I just don’t passively watch it. I’m an enthusiastic fan, which is why I hesitate when a friend of mine recently invited me to a quick getaway for a few days before the school year starts. Hang out. Let the kids  play in the pool. Get out of the house which was desperately needed.

But … It’s The Olympics.

rio-olympics

I’m all for hanging out and drinking wine and chit-chatting, but when gold is on the line and my country is close to the podium I’m gonna have to be glued to the television. Surprisingly not many of my friends are into sports, like myself. Only a few share my love of Peyton Manning, Monday Night Football, hoop dreams, sideouts,  400 relay teams, a love for Coach Eric Taylor, Morgan Freeman commercials, Hoosiers, Miracle, The Natural and other sports movies.

So they may not understand the importance of Olympics, they may be passive about it or maybe they’re just as excited as I am when I hear the tannnn-tannnnn-ta-tannnn-tan-tan-tan-tan-tan-tan tannnnn. Don’t know.

But what I do know is that come night time, when all the kids are in bed and some of the girls want to get to chit-chatting or drinking, I’m gonna have to steer them towards the television and remind them that I come from a House of Sports. And Michael Phelps will be swimming, Aly Raisman will be taking the floor, and Kerri Walsh Jennings will be hitting the beach. So NBC  will probably be blaring from the TV or iPad. But I’ll encourage them to bring their treats.

5 Responses to “House Of Sports”

  1. bgddyjim August 9, 2016 at 1:43 AM #

    We are an Olympic house too. Too cool.

    • The Guat August 13, 2016 at 12:09 AM #

      I figured you’d be for sure 🙂

  2. Cayman Thorn August 10, 2016 at 8:37 PM #

    It was a dubious leadup to the games, with all the Zika talk, but the Games have been splendid to this point. How Michael Phelps keeps dominating is just ridiculous. I would NOT put it past him to be there again in 2020.

    Yay US!

    Nice post Cali. And yes to Morgan Freeman! I’d listen to the dude read a drivers manual. And he’d make it sound gooooooooood.

    • The Guat August 17, 2016 at 11:26 PM #

      I knoooooooow right? And now with that whole Lochte robbery mess it was getting out of hand. But I’m glad The Games has had some positive stories with Phelps and gymnastics and team volleyball, can’t wait to see what happens on the track. I’m still waiting to hear the Morgan Freeman wrap up … he’s always great 🙂

      • Cayman Thorn August 18, 2016 at 3:21 AM #

        I frankly do not understand the Lochte story. I mean, I get it..there’s speculation they partied and then someone made up a robbery story. Why? Makes no sense. As for Brazilian officials getting all huffy because this one story makes them look bad? Robberies are a daily occurrence in Rio, so regardless of this story, it’s not like Rio is Pleasantville, lol.

        That bizarre story aside, this has been a great Games. From the gymnasts, who are dominant, to Katie Ledecky winning by almost half a football field, to Phelps continuing his dominance and giving thirty somethings hope, to Usain Bolt, who I would pay to watch run through an airport. Even the basketball team has given us some intrigue, albeit of a less positive nature seeing as how they have looked very beatable.

        All this AND Morgan Freeman? I’ll take it!

Leave a Reply

