Facebook … And Why I Totally Hated It Today

13 Jun

I’m not a big fan but they seem to love it. They can’t get enough of it.

They … the masses. They post all kinds of stuff. What they eat and where they’ve been

And for the most part I’m pretty indifferent … that was until today …

Today I hated it.

There he was in portrait-style picture trying to look like a Gap commercial with his new family. Wife. Pregnant wife. And a daughter.

I couldn’t believe it..

The Facebook had made a suggestion … you know … a you might know this person type of deal and I couldn’t believe it.

I mean I wasn’t even the one who married him, but I was still so upset by it. You see one of my friends had recently split up with this dude, about four or five years ago. They had no kids and  just split up their assets and even though it wasn’t a shouting-match-I-hate-you-forever kind of divorce, it was still a divorce. One that left her feeling horrible and sad and I was sad for my friend. I saw her go through such a hard time and I’m sure I didn’t see everything, but what I saw was pretty rough.

She has someone in her life now and I imagine that because of that her ex is in her past, a past that she’s forgotten and doesn’t like to rehash. She’s in a good place, she seems happy. So I didn’t tell her about this virtual encounter. I didn’t tell her that he remarried, or that he started a family.

I didn’t know if it was going to bother her, I mean it bothered me and I wasn’t even married to the dude. I was so burned out by it.I couldn’t believe why I was so upset and angry. I guess in part it was because I knew my friend, I knew how much she loved him and wanted the marriage to work. I knew the heartache, and I guess I was so upset because he seemed to replace her so easily. Married with one kid and another on the way in four years?

Dude.

I debated on telling her this recent Facebook discovery and why I hated Facebook so much, but I thought better of it. I thought it was best to leave her past in the past. I didn’t want angry, sad, or weird feelings clouding her current state. I don’t know, maybe she already knew. Maybe she had run into them and kept it to herself because the blow was pretty big. Or maybe she didn’t even care, because she’s moved on too.

I don’t know why the death of love and the beginning of his beginning bothered me so much. I guess it was because I knew about her dream, I was aware of the future she wanted. I guess I learned that loyalty is a big thing with me. I was loyal to my friend, why couldn’t he be?

I guess I just wanted my friend to have that love without having to have gone through such a painful time. To me it was just hard to believe how quickly he had replaced her, how he seemed so happy in that happily-ever-after photo he had posted on his Facebook profile.

But then again not everything on Facebook is as it seems.

 

5 Responses to “Facebook … And Why I Totally Hated It Today”

  1. brickhousechick June 14, 2016 at 7:46 PM #

    Ay, Dios Mio! That’s so tough to come across a picture that you know would hurt your friend, no matter how “over” it she is. You did the right thing by not pointing it out to her (I believe). Why bring attentions to it. You’re a great amiga! 🙂

    • The Guat June 14, 2016 at 10:04 PM #

      Ay Chica! So glad to hear from you. Miss seeing you around mujer and so glad you stopped by 🙂 this Facebook thing totally blew me away dude. I couldn’t believe it, but then I could. Man. I know I shouldn’t be upset it wasn’t me, but man that whole situation needed some chocolate.

  2. susielindau June 15, 2016 at 6:15 AM #

    I wouldn’t say a word to her either. Even if she moved on it might bring back negative feelings. I really don’t go on Facebook that much.Twitter is my fave!

    • The Guat June 15, 2016 at 10:49 AM #

      Dude. Yes! Facebook has a way of unraveling people’s business and just I don’t know there’s a lot out there on social media in general. So I try to stay off of it unless someone sends me a message directly then I just log on. But yup that day I was not liking Facebook in a giant way.

  3. Apple Pie & Napalm July 10, 2016 at 4:31 PM #

    Sometimes Facebook can be a big ol buzzkill. It used to be a fun place to snoop and catch up and laugh, and now it can be such a downer. I’m always seeing things there I wish I hadn’t seen.

Leave a Reply

