I Earned A Couple More … But That’s O.K. They’re worth it

10 Jun

Some people say that they sneak up on you, that you have no idea where they came from.

Dude, so not true on my account.

I have knowledge of all there whereabouts. I knew exactly when they showed up and why. I wasn’t surprised. Weirded out, maybe. Worried a little? Yeah, maybe at first. But as more started trickling in I thought … dude it’s becoming an epidemic. I might need to purchase a bottle Nice N’ Easy.

But no.

I’m sticking to the salt and pepper look of my long curls.

I earned one this week. A couple actually. Sadness, happiness, and concern all at once.

I had a parent moment as my youngest graduated preschool this past week. I didn’t think it would be that big of a deal. I mean I knew it was important, but didn’t think it would give me pause. I saw all the Facebook posts from people about their kids moving up a grade or graduating and I thought … hmph that’s cool. But nothing registered.

Then as I saw my own, walking down the aisle in her purple cap and gown, it hit me. She’s going to be walking down that aisle at age 18 soon. She’s going to be heading off to college before I know it, and then life.

I don’t want to miss it. I don’t want it going fast. Did it go fast?

People say it goes by fast, but so far I’m feeling every day. Thus the gray hairs. I notice them. It happened when my son graduated as well. I got a little parent-y.  I thought it was a one-time thing, but nope. It hit me again. And I needed a moment. Some time to bottle it up in a mason jar and close that lid tight.

I thought about how far she’s come, how she curls the J in her name, how she scales that rock climbing wall with no problem now, how she brings something to show-and-tell and says that’s it’s fragile, how she has friends and talks about her adventures, how she shares or high-fives her friends to make for an awesome moment, how she paints more than just snakes now, there are houses and trees and rainbows and sun, and me in those pictures, how she runs faster now and is able to reach the pedals on the mini bikes.

I look at how far she’s come and I see the gray hairs on my head and I know that so far … so far I’ve done good job. I earned a couple more, but they’re worth it.

 

IMG_4772

4 Responses to “I Earned A Couple More … But That’s O.K. They’re worth it”

  1. anotherday2paradise June 12, 2016 at 12:17 PM #

    So gorgeous, TG. ‘Memories are made of this’. I bet your dad used to sing that song. 🙂

    • The Guat June 14, 2016 at 6:09 PM #

      Thanks for reading! It was a good day, and I bet my Dad would have loved being there. He would definitely been there for the frozen yogurt afterward too.

  2. Apple Pie & Napalm July 10, 2016 at 4:25 PM #

    Like Darius says, “It Won’t Be Like This For Long.” Kids grow up so fast. I’m covering up my stress induced grey this week. I tried to just let it be. I earned them fair and square, but dude, I just am not ready yet.

Leave a Reply

