Lost and Found

28 May

Sometimes you give it 100% and feel like you failed anyway. It’s the Parenthood mantra.

People don’t like to admit their failures. I don’t know, they want to feel like they can be on the cover of Parents Magazine, looking like the weather chick on your local news with three kids in matching outfits, harvesting their organic produce and skipping in their garden. They want people to see them that way.

But it’s all good. I’m not one them. I’m a Failure Survivor. The gray hairs on my head are the scars that prove it. Parenthood is both a joy and a battle.

But most of the time at the end of the day you’re so exhausted that you forget about some of the joys that warmed your heart throughout the day. You forget about the small victories that took place during the day because the failures tend to overshadow such things, which is why practicing gratitude is so important when you’re a parent. Gratitude and finding the funny, those have been my compasses throughout these parenting years.

They help find things that get lost.

Whether it’s in the moment, or at night when it’s just you, Netflix and a cup of tea your compasses help you remember.

Moments of gratitude. They help when chocolate is gone.

 

IMG_4581

Celebrating at the finish line.

 

Like today … I remembered about the front-door parking at the stadium, the smiles of making it to the starting line for the first wave of the race, the laughter and dancing of the finish line party, and the hugs of knowing it was a good Parenthood day.

 

 

 

9 Responses to “Lost and Found”

  1. bgddyjim May 29, 2016 at 12:54 AM #

    They’re all good parenthood days. Failure happens, certainly, but kids forget the wins and losses. What they remember is that their parents cared and gave it their best. You win. 😎

    • The Guat May 31, 2016 at 1:39 AM #

      Duuuuuuude I totally love that bit of wisdom, and I’m hoping for it. Hoping they remember I was there and that I tried because I know there will be more adventures in failures as the teenage years hit me.

      • bgddyjim May 31, 2016 at 3:32 AM #

        Thank you kindly. I look at it this way: If I can do just a little bit better than my parents did, and they did a great job, then I should be in good enough shape to let the rest work out in the wash.

  2. anotherday2paradise May 29, 2016 at 5:49 AM #

    Thanks for the smiles, TG. You’re such a REAL person. 🙂

    • The Guat May 31, 2016 at 1:37 AM #

      Thanks for stopping by buddy. Sometimes a little too real, like when chocolate and pints of Ben & Jerry’s are needed. But glad that people can relate to my story.

  3. susielindau May 29, 2016 at 6:37 AM #

    That photo looks like a painting!
    Parenthood is tough. Although the full time job ends there is this tenuous tight rope I walk on trying to balance motherhood with friendship, allowing them to figure things out on their own. I miss them. I look back when they were kids and wish I had more time. Keep focusing on the good times! There’s always more good than bad.

    • The Guat May 31, 2016 at 1:36 AM #

      Thanks! I tried taking some pics throughout the event but there was a lot of paint. It was a good moment and I’m glad I captured that a bit because I know when they get older there will be times when they’re not gonna be happy to hang with mom and I’ll miss them too. Thanks for the advice, I will try to keep my focus. 🙂

  4. The Good Greatsby May 29, 2016 at 7:34 PM #

    I completely agree. I think starting a blog helped me remember all the funny and meaningful things at the end of the day. It’s important to keep track of all those positives when we’re feeling overwhelmed.

    • The Guat May 31, 2016 at 1:31 AM #

      Duuuuuude it helped me too! It is a good way of remembering those moments. I just have to remember to print them out and keep them on file for those days when Ben & Jerry’s makes an appearance.

Leave a Reply

