Yup … It’s Worth It

2 Apr
Duuuuuuuude. There is a lot you do for the people you love.
Travel, sacrifice, work, fundraisers, sleep …the list goes on and on.
For me?
It’s stairs.
I’ll be taking the stairs. And in fact, I hate stairs, I hate the StairMaster. It produces nothing but pain. I hate whoever invented it. They should be thrown off a cliff. I’m more of an elevator enthusiast.
So it might sound strange to say that in two weeks I’m going to be scaling 63 stories 1,391 steps. The Ben-Gay and ice pack will be waiting for me.
In two weeks  it’s gonna happen … It’ll be claustrophobic. I won’t be able to catch my breath. My muscles won’t be getting enough oxygen, and I’ll feel like I need an EKG. And it will only be the 37th floor.
Everything in me is gonna be like … duuuuuuuude you need to stop. The music is not even helping. This isn’t funny. Every muscle in my body that thought it was 20 years old is gonna be like, ‘C’mon now, stop playing these games, you’re 40, this is what 40 feels like.’ My left knee will be aching and my calves will be ready to give out, just hoping for an Achilles Tendon mishap. Every part of my body will be asking … is it worth it?
I’ll close my eyes and see my Dad …
Dad

My Dad … talking about dreams … me trying to listen.

My best bud, and the Wingman to my dreams …
Yeah, he’s worth it.
I’d do anything to get him back. So I do this in his memory. I do this for him. I do this to help find a cure. I do this so that someone else won’t lose their Dad.
Yup.  It’s worth it.
In about 15 days I’ll be one of the masses, climbing to the top of the AON Building in Downtown Los Angeles participating in The American Lung Association’s Fight for Air Climb to honor my pops.
My yearly ritual to honor the man who rooted for the underdog, who believed in random acts of kindness, who paid it forward, who carried my pictures in his wallet and my Father’s Day cards in his briefcase,who loved his family and sacrificed so that we could have a better life.
Yup. My body will be in desperate need of Ben Gay, and my knees will be out of commission but he’s worth it.
Buen Camino, my friends.

 

12 Responses to “Yup … It’s Worth It”

  1. bgddyjim April 3, 2016 at 1:18 AM #

    I know you’re an experienced runner but I was too when I learned this little tip so in sharing this, please don’t mistake my sharing it as a form of condescension.

    The trick to the burning lungs and muscles is not getting more oxygen, it’s getting the CO2 out. Exhalation us just as important as inhalation. Exhale sharply and fully and let your lungs fill naturally. I was astonished by how well this works. 😉

    Great post, dude.

    • The Guat May 15, 2016 at 11:15 AM #

      Dude! I’m so glad I read your comment before the race. I tried to do that and for a moment I thought it was working. But I guess I needed to practice exhaling more. Overall it turned out great … I made it to the top. Thanks for the advice and encouragement, sorry for the late reply.

      • bgddyjim May 15, 2016 at 12:23 PM #

        No worries, glad it helped. 😎

  2. ksbeth April 3, 2016 at 3:35 AM #

    good luck -)

    • The Guat May 15, 2016 at 11:16 AM #

      Thanks so much! As you know it turned out well. I kept breathing and pushing through and made it to the top. Total emotional journey, but well worth it.

  3. susielindau April 3, 2016 at 7:52 AM #

    Woohoo! You are my hero, Guat! How cool that your dad will be spurring you on.
    I’m still fighting to get back into shape from surgery a year ago. Every time I hit the gym my knee swells up like a grapefruit and it grinds! I will go back at again, but will be more careful…by skiing Beaver Creek today!

    • The Guat May 15, 2016 at 11:19 AM #

      He was totally there … Even when I was exhausted on the 27th floor and thinking duuuuuuuude … But as you know things turned out great. I made it it to the top. He was there and I was so happy to have made it to the top. I’m sorry to hear about the swelling in your knee. Has it improved yet? Have you been biking or swimming (indoor pool in Colorado of course :))

      • susielindau May 15, 2016 at 8:26 PM #

        Yes! I got a second opinion on Thursday. He told me not to sweat it and I should build up the muscle again. Ha! Yep. On the bike.

  4. anotherday2paradise April 5, 2016 at 10:44 AM #

    What a great tribute to your dad, TG! I’m sure he’ll be rooting for you. Good luck and hope you don’t need too much of that Ben Gay. 🙂 x

    • The Guat May 15, 2016 at 11:21 AM #

      Thanks so much! And you know I totally needed some Ben Gay! It was a super long day, but it was filled with awesomeness. Thanks for the well wishes and for reading…and sorry for the late reply. It’s been crazy as you know 🙂

  5. Dentler Erdmann April 6, 2016 at 7:57 PM #

    I so much admire your guts to climb those stairs . . .but I more admire your respect for your Dad.

    • The Guat May 15, 2016 at 11:23 AM #

      Eridie!! Thanks so much for stopping by to read and hear my story. Sorry it took me so long to reply, it’s been crazy on this end as you know, but glad I can come back and read your comments and relive the moment. Thanks so much for your support! It was super awesome of you.

Leave a Reply

