I’m Still Part of The Justice League, Just Need a Pat on The Back

7 Jan

Every Wednesday they meet …

They give a little umph for when you’re not really feeling it. I mean I’d like to think I’m pretty secure myself, but there are days when I-don’t-think-it’s-gonna-happen creeps in, there are days when doubt sneaks onto my 10-page start.

Out there in the unknown through comments, links, and blog hops IWSG is ready to give you that extra boost.

The Insecure Writers Support Group.

I missed the meeting. The week caught up with me and I fell asleep. Exhausted Parent Syndrome. It’s a chronic problem. But sometimes I prescribe myself some 5-hour energy and I’m back in the mix. But even though I missed the 24-hour window I’m sure my writer insecurity can still qualify to speak on the matter.

Some of you know that I finished writing my book in Decemebr of 2014 and I spent 2015 editing the crap out of it. After the multiple rewrites, and falling in and out of love with my characters I’ve come to the end. The last 27 pages of my final rewrite … That’s what I’ve got.

And so it hits me, I’m gonna have to let someone take a look at it. I’m going to have to ask a couple of buddies from my newspaper days to give it a look and tell me what they think. And the thing is I respect them as writers so much that the thought of them checking it out fills my insecurity bucket. I mean if I don’t know you the fact that you don’t like my book, or story, or play doesn’t make that killer impact. But when it’s a buddy, a close friend, a comadre that puts the funny feeling in my chest, the kind that finds me making my debut appearance at the IWSG. And I’d like to thank my buddy T.B. Markinson for letting me in on the secret meetings.

Hi … My name is The Guat, and I’m insecure … Sometimes.

IWSG badge

IWSG

Yup.

The feeling comes and goes, it doesn’t always stay with me. When I’m in the middle of a story, typing away in the nitty-gritty of it, I’m Superman. I’m Batman. I’m Wonder Woman. I’m the entire freakin’ Justice League rolled up in one. But I find that when I get close to finishing a project that’s when it kicks in. It’s getting ready to leave my hands, my control. And that freaks my freak.

Although I’ve got to say ever since I started this blogging journey, I’ve gotten better. This Word Press community has definitely helped empty the insecurity bucket and given me even more confidence in letting go.

But when it comes to a 200-page book, or a one-act play for my friend’s theatre group, the insecurity still trickles in, because there’s so much of me in there.

And when I hear the …. Duuuuude that was good story.

A smile creeps in, and so does relief.

But I get it, I don’t necessarily need the “duuuuuude that was a good story,” compliment because I feel good about the story, but it’s always nice to be reassured.

I’m in reassurance mode.

And that’s why I’m at IWSG.

Do you guys need ISWG?

.

.

10 Responses to “I’m Still Part of The Justice League, Just Need a Pat on The Back”

  1. bgddyjim January 7, 2016 at 2:44 PM #

    No IWSG. I’m too busy with everything going on in my life. I write as an outlet and just hope it hits a few people here and there. It’s all good. Of course, I write only as a hobby and let out some steam, so that must be taken into account for my attitude.

    • The Guat January 8, 2016 at 10:41 AM #

      It’s all good, that kind of writing is always great. Helps with perspective, and also makes you feel better. I think that’s why a lot of people enjoy bogging 🙂

  2. The Good Greatsby January 7, 2016 at 4:15 PM #

    Finding the right people to give feedback is one of the greatest challenges of writing. For a book to be successful it only has to appeal to a very select segment of readers. I’m never sure how much I can rely on the feedback of a friend who maybe isn’t my target audience and perhaps knows me too well to be able to read the story without hearing my voice.

    • The Guat January 8, 2016 at 10:45 AM #

      Duuuuuude you are so right with this. It’s always hard to find the “right” person. Got to be careful, got to make sure you pick people that are going to tell you the way it is. There were a couple of editors at the newspaper that I trusted to weed out the extras, and they were such good writers themselves, so I tend to turn to them because they can switch on their editor hat in a minute, but I also thought of letting a few of my target people read it and give me some feedback. Figured best of both worlds couldn’t hurt. Thanks for hanging out.

  3. TBM January 8, 2016 at 12:26 AM #

    Welcome to IWSG.

    Dude, I totally get your insecurity. I remember sending my first baby out. Nervous wreck doesn’t even begin to describe how I felt. But it’s part of the process. Just remember, not everyone will love what you write. That’s okay. Listen to the critiques, learn from it, and apply. Don’t internalize the criticism. And again, not everyone likes every story.

    • The Guat January 8, 2016 at 10:48 AM #

      Duuuuuuude that’s totally my philosophy, not everyone liked every piece I wrote at the paper, but if I felt good about it and my editor gave it a thumbs up, hen it was all good. Books are a little different as its more personal, but I’m still trying to work on that mentality. Thanks for hanging out! And so glad I finally made it to a meeting ha!

  4. empathy75 January 8, 2016 at 6:22 AM #

    Its ok. You are doing fine. May be sometimes we have to think that we are writing more for ourselves,,to satisfy our souls rather than to prove others that we are perfect. Sometimes anxiety can reduce the performance and creativity. Sleep enough and when you write , only think of your characters and nothing else.you can do it. Will be waiting for your book

    • The Guat January 18, 2016 at 4:56 PM #

      Thanks so much for the support!! And yes, you’re right! Anxiety and lack of sleep tend to drain some of the creative juices out of me, but just get back on it the next day. Coming out this year. Will keep you guys posted on progress.

  5. Apple Pie & Napalm January 9, 2016 at 1:45 PM #

    I’m so thrilled for you, how exciting! What’s the next step now?

    • The Guat January 18, 2016 at 4:53 PM #

      After my friends take a look at it and give me some feedback, I look over it once more and begin to send it out, before taking to independent publishing. Either way, coming out this year. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

