Bucket List in The Kitchen

4 Jan

I’m not gonna lie. The expectations were big.

I mean having tasted the best of the best while growing up I knew it was going to be a big challenge. I was going up against years and years of Dona Irma’s and Dona Maria’s expertise where measurements and timers weren’t needed. It was all done through smell and taste. I wasn’t sure if it was going to be an epic kitchen fail or a Guat success.

I didn’t have the magic of the senses, not with this dish and I was worried.

But let me tell you … I’m so glad I took on this challenge. My taste buds are still high-fiving me.

Pozole.

It’s my all-time favorite comfort food and I’ve never attempted to make it because the deliciousness contained in that ginormous soup pot seemed to be too big. With the pork shoulder and baby back ribs creating a rich broth, followed by the spicy kick of the Chile Guajillo and Chile Ancho peppers I was making Guat culinary history.

It looked right. It smelled right and as I took the first sip it definitely felt right. I closed my eyes and let the broth and hominy sit in my mouth. I just wanted to taste it, and it took me back to La Vecindad – the old neighborhood – where potlucks and block parties where the norm and where Dona Irma and Dona Maria would create huge pots of this tasty stew.

Now it might not have been of Dona Irma and Dona Maria caliber, but it sure was in the same arena. They would have been proud of me.

The fact that the one spoonful took me back, definitely means it was a success.

And it was right there and then that I realized I had done something else, something other than creating one of my childhood favorite dishes. It occurred to me that I had just checked something off my Bucket List.

 

IMG_3272

This was my prize.

 

That was a win-win for me. I rode that cloud nine for a couple of days. Something I thought was nearly impossible proved to be within my reach and what was even better was that the whole family was there to enjoy it as well.

If there was any doubt to the tastiness of my stew, it was soon dismissed. The pozole was gone in three days. But I still have a smile.

.

.

 

 

10 Responses to “Bucket List in The Kitchen”

  1. Apple Pie & Napalm January 4, 2016 at 11:59 PM #

    I’ve never heard of this dish, but it looks phenomenal! I’m proud you made it, that was such a great sense of accomplishment.

    • The Guat January 6, 2016 at 11:17 AM #

      Duuuuuuude you definitely need to try it, if you enjoy hearty soups then this one is THE one to try. Some Mexican restaurants serve it on weekends but it’s got to be a good one. Now that I know how to make it…I’m serving it at home 🙂 thanks for reading.

  2. TBM January 5, 2016 at 12:22 AM #

    I’ve never had it, but after seeing the photo I want some! Congrats.

    • The Guat January 6, 2016 at 11:19 AM #

      Duuuude that’s like the best compliment ever. You should totally try it, some Mexican restaurants have some on weekends, but make sure the place is good and that you get all the ‘fixins’. Great to see you buddy!

  3. 76sanfermo January 5, 2016 at 1:12 AM #

    Love this post and keep very curious about your pozole….
    Let me put it in my bucket list, too!

    • The Guat January 6, 2016 at 11:21 AM #

      Thanks! It’s a great dish and I was supposed happy everything came together in the end. It was a great boost to my cooking skills. Thanks for hanging out 🙂

  4. The Good Greatsby January 5, 2016 at 6:13 AM #

    Congratulations on your bucket list victory. I’d love to try your pozole. The only thing left on my bucket list is owning a bucket.

    • The Guat January 6, 2016 at 11:14 AM #

      Ha! The bucket…I just used my kids’ sand bucket from the beach…neon orange works well. Duuuuude and that Pozole was awesome if you ever get a chance to try it please do! It’s amazing with all the extras.

  5. The Hook January 6, 2016 at 10:19 AM #

    Personally, I’m a disaster in the kitchen.

    • The Guat January 6, 2016 at 11:23 AM #

      Ha! The kitchen tends to be a disaster when I’m done, but so far the meals have been great! But I do tend to have epic fails every couple of months, keeps my head from getting too big.

Leave a Reply

