Flawsomeness and Juice

31 Dec

Goals. 2.0 better versions of yourself. To-do lists. Bucket lists. Happiness projects.

Yup. I’m one of those people. I didn’t used to be. Lists would burn me out. I’d never get to cross anything out.

I’d come up short all the time. But then something changed and I learned about silver lining playbooks, and finding and keeping those good-times-noodle-salad moments close.

I still fail, lots of times but I get off my beaten ass and try again.

I wanted the 2.0 version of myself, but the 1 1/2  life I’m currently living seems to be pretty badass at the moment, because I realized that I’m always undergoing construction, and humor and gratitude continue to be part of the blueprints that are helping build a better me.

With all the failures this past year, being able to focus on gratitude and what I got right, instead of what went wrong seemed to help minimize the breakdowns and tune into a more positive state of mind. Continually trying to write SNL skits of the not-so-funny moments in my life also seemed to help turn some difficult corners.

I was hoping for  a better year, just like everyone else.  I was hoping for more A-Ha! moments, more Super Soul Sunday moments. But most of all, I was hoping for more turning points, for finding them, for paying attention to them.

That’s what I set out to do at the beginning of the year, just find my turning points, find ways to thrive and I realized that humor and gratitude were gonna make it happen for me. When there was no more chocolate in the house, humor helped the disasters of parenthood and friendships gone bad. When frustration and profanity rose up because nothing seemed to be falling into to place, gratitude helped remember the good times with my kids, my staycations at the beach, my skydiving adventure, my triathlon victories, my message exchanges with WordPress buddies, my 40-year-old celebrations with my comadres, my morning Power-Hours, my Mixed-Tape Mondays, my chocolate cakes, and my cool-side of the pillow ZEN feelings.

I’ve kept my don’t-give-up attitude. I’ve found my turning points and been present within them. I became the stumbler, I didn’t build my life by being better than others, but by being better than I used to be.

I kept my 2015 plan in tact, and I’m better for it.

And so what’s up for 2016? What’s my plan?

I’ve been reminded that I’m Flawsome, and that there’s Big Magic out there for daydreamers that take action, and don’t give into the negativity that surrounds them. They embrace their flaws and live a creative life by “continually and stubbornly” trying to find the pockets of inspiration that give them the juice. Even when negativity surrounds them.

I’m looking to “continually and stubbornly” keep my juice.

 

bce45b0aa3ed1120030bca8bef4afab6

🙂

 

One page at a time, one day at a time. Writing this 365 page book with gratitude and humor. And Flawsomeness. And Juice.

Buen Camino.

 

.

.

 

 

 

12 Responses to “Flawsomeness and Juice”

  1. Cayman Thorn December 31, 2015 at 4:47 AM #

    You’re a rock star, Guat. Be stubborn and true, and may the New Year bring you and your family the best of everything.

    Peace and love and Happy New Year

    • The Guat January 2, 2016 at 5:14 PM #

      Duuuuuude thank you so much! New Year’s Eve ended up being great! Hung out with my kids at the Zoo At Night shindig and then went home to eat the Pozole I made! I was high-giving myself the entire night…almost better than my chocolate cake! Hope you had a good one too. Cuidate.

  2. cravesadventure December 31, 2015 at 7:08 AM #

    A Very Happy New Year!!!

    • The Guat January 2, 2016 at 5:15 PM #

      Thanks buddy hope the warm blue waters welcomed you this year 🙂

  3. http://theenglishprofessoratlarge.com December 31, 2015 at 8:51 AM #

    I’m centering on my mantra “Play the moment,not the results,” for this coming year. I keep slipping into the past and then fearing the future, but centering on the “now” is the way to go.Have a truly glorious New Year.

    • The Guat January 2, 2016 at 5:16 PM #

      I’m totally loving your mantra! It’s what I tell my daughter when she’s doing art…all about the process and enjoying the moment. Hope you have a great New Year’s! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  4. The Good Greatsby December 31, 2015 at 4:49 PM #

    This about sums up my year. Lots of progress but I had hoped for one big A-Ha! moment of clarity. I’m always trying to remind myself to find meaning in the process and not just the end result but the end result is certainly easier to measure.

    • The Guat January 2, 2016 at 5:32 PM #

      Duuuuuude it’s always easier to measure, right? That whole paying attention to the process is something I learned a while back when I felt like I was going to multitask myself to disaster, so I slowed it down a bit and remembered what I told my daughter about her preschool art…glad you enjoyed the process. Hope you had a great New Year! I saw your standup really funny, just like your writing, definitely post up more when you get your next gig. Thanks for reading and for the follow. Have a good one.

  5. anotherday2paradise January 1, 2016 at 7:27 AM #

    Happy New Year to you and your family, TG. Yes, gratitude is a very important component in judging our success rate at the end of every year. 🙂 xx

    • The Guat January 2, 2016 at 5:29 PM #

      Duuuuuuuude it is isn’t it? Wish I would have learned that before having kids could have saved myself a lot of grief, but I’m on a learning curve and glad parenthood taught me something. Hope you have a great year!

  6. Stephanie Faris January 2, 2016 at 11:33 AM #

    I think stubbornness is what it takes! The key is just to never give up…and maybe to just find a way to enjoy the journey somehow, even if things aren’t going well. 2016 will be a great year!

    Stephanie
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

    • The Guat January 2, 2016 at 5:36 PM #

      I used to think stubbornness was a flaw until it got me somewhere. And totally enjoying the journey is something I learned to do when I had had or went on vacation, got to make sure to just apply it to every day…one day at a time…finding my own adventure. Thanks for stopping by, hope you had a good New Year.

Leave a Reply

