A Standing Ovation

16 Dec

After all the dramatic events that led to our induction into AYSO I’d like to say that it turned out fantastic, that the season was filled with plenty of Rudy-Hoosiers-Miracle-The-Natural type of moments.

But … I can’t. Nope.

My son’s first ever soccer experience involved being part of a Bad News Bears squad where they ended up losing almost every single game of the season. And instead of being one of those crazed parents yelling at their kid after the game or the season, I seemed to take the Kurt Warner approach.

I could see that he felt bad game after game, that he knew they had a losing record but I didn’t want to focus on the losing. But don’t get me wrong I did point out mistakes and what needed to improve, but that wasn’t my focus. I decided to concentrate more on what he did do right and how impressed I was at how he knew nothing about the sport at the beginning of the season and ended up being such a great defender toward the end.

He was voted most improved and I was proud of that, because that’s all we really want for ourselves too. We want to be better than we were yesterday and I was glad he had that in mind.

I mean I knew the losing record was a bummer, but still felt like he deserved a high-five, because he was different from the other players. He gave it his best, 100% effort and that was what mattered. His character in the end mattered. Every week he showed up, hopeful that his efforts and those of his teammates would bring back a win. Every week he gave his heart and every week he got better.

IMG_7813

.

 

So instead of pointing out the losses that took place throughout the season I paid attention to the courage it took for him to try something new and his perseverance and sportsmanship when things weren’t easy. I decided he definitely needed his standing ovation because losing is a hard lesson to learn no matter how old you are.

 

 

6 Responses to “A Standing Ovation”

  1. susielindau December 17, 2015 at 9:45 AM #

    That’s a great message! There are wins and losses throughout life too. It’s up to us to see the positive in them and move forward.
    Merry Christmas, Guat!

    • The Guat December 20, 2015 at 9:20 AM #

      Duuuuuuuude thanks so much. It was a disappointing season for them especially when they were so close and as a parent there were a number of ways I could’ve taken it, seeing how I was an athlete growing up, soooooo glad we took the right direction.

  2. Apple Pie & Napalm December 17, 2015 at 2:43 PM #

    You laid a great foundation for him, he will remember that one day when he has a family of his own. You’re a great mama!

    • The Guat December 20, 2015 at 9:23 AM #

      Duuuuuude thanks so much! It was tough watching it as you want your kid to feel what a win feels like (I mean even though he had plenty of wins during baseball season and golf) you want them to feel successful about trying something new, so we just changed his perspective on what success meant 🙂 definitely hopes he remembers 🙂 Thanks for the props!

  3. marydpierce December 17, 2015 at 4:16 PM #

    You can’t see me, but I’m giving you a standing ovation right now for being such an intuitive, loving mom. Way to go, both of you!

    • The Guat December 20, 2015 at 9:25 AM #

      Duuuuuuude thanks so much!! As a mom you’re always questioning yourself and wondering if you’re in the right track especially in situations like these. It always feels good to be reassured even when you feel like you did the right thing, it’s good to get a gold star. Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

