I Had Gotten My Spark

26 Oct

I thought there would be fireworks and it would be magical. 

I’d built it up to be such a great thing because I’d gotten so much out of the book… but being stuck in traffic, parking way across campus, and showing up 20 minuted late really seemed to fizzle things out. Nothing was going according to plan…
I had met her when my life was in shambles, Telenovela shambles … the kind where you wish you weren’t the main character because everything was so jacked up but it turned out that when you looked in the mirror you were that character, you were in shambles. 

Yeah that was me some years ago, and  I found such comfort and Aha! moments in Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love novel that it helped me transition through such a tough time. Going through that with her words swirling in my thoughts and settling in my heart, I’d expected that same transformational lightning-bolt moment to happen again. But the two hours in traffic seemed to take the umph out of the lightning.

Sadly … I’d missed the opening. I hate missing anything, I’m the kind of person that gets to the movies early just to enjoy the previews, I don’t like missing the Oscars monologue, I don’t like missing beginnings, they sort of set the tone for everything else. So missing out on the first half of anything, especially this speech was kind of a downer. 

But just then and there as I walked into the auditorium, sweaty and hair in desperate need of a hat or some Aquanet hairspray, I saw her and gratitude kicked in. I wasn’t focused so much on what I had lost, on how far I had parked, on the disasterous traffic, or what nugget of Big Magic I had missed, but I was centered on my gratitude.

 I had caught the second half. 

I mean in sports that’s when things matter, the second half. That’s when Hail Marys are thrown and the crows go wild. In books that’s where thing matter, in the second half. So as I stood there in the aisle leaning against the pillar I focused in on that voice I had heard so many times before in the Magic Lessons podcasts, and it appeared.

The spark.

I came away with two great take-home moments from stories that seemed to resonate with the writer and creative force inside me.  Great lines that made there way into my morning routine and do t-give-up inner dialogue.

And even though after the lecture ended the bad luck continued, I still found gratitude. The line was long for the book signing, and even though the chick in front of me took longer than she was supposed to and stole my moment with Gilbert making her posse quickly usher me away after she signing my book, I still felt good.

I had gotten my spark.

 I had gotten my take-home moments … two of them and I was thankful for the mini lesson.

  

4 Responses to “I Had Gotten My Spark”

  1. cravesadventure October 27, 2015 at 7:48 AM #

    How COOL!!!

    Here is my post from yesterday – Check It Out & Enjoy 🙂

    https://cravesadventure.wordpress.com/2015/10/26/inspirational-forces/

    • The Guat October 27, 2015 at 4:28 PM #

      Overall the day ended in a cool way, and I found gratitude for things I probably wouldn’t have ten years ago. It was pretty sweet to have perspective … Must the that I’m 40 now 🙂 but I’m on it! Traveling your way to see what you wrote. 🙂

  2. Krystal October 27, 2015 at 11:57 AM #

    Ugh I hate missing the beginning of things too, especially the movie previews. I’m sorry to hear that you had such a rough time but I’m also glad that you found those silver linings to take away from the evening. I just wrote about my night with her also. I wish she would’ve done a signing for ours but it was so packed that she signed every book ahead of time. It was still absolutely thrilling to be in the same room. I totally fangirled. Haha!

    • The Guat October 27, 2015 at 4:22 PM #

      Duuuuuuude I’m on it! It sounds like yours was super great, I’ll head over there to read it. Yeah…things didn’t go as planned but it was all good in the end as I found a seat in like the 10th row and came away with that I maaaaaaade it line and The Court Lobster. Those were awesome takeaways. Then even when the chick in front of me totally stole my time with Gilbert and as I was being rushed off Gilbert gave me a quick smile as she handed me the book. I walked to the parking lot feeling less crappy. I found my rainbows on the cloudy day. Good perspective. 🙂

Leave a Reply

