No Really It’s Only My Second Glass of Champagne, But This Is My Fifth Brownie

24 Aug

I got it again.

I didn’t really know it was missing, until I felt it come back. It was sort of dormant I guess. For about a month. But I got it back. I got my groove back and it felt good, the kind of good you felt when you were a kid, back in the old days when cassette tapes, Op Shirts, Vans sneakers and Jack Tripper existed. Yeah … I had that.

It came back to me at my friend’s 40th birthday party.

I was there to celebrate this milestone, this Big 4-0 that all us are experiencing this year, and I came away feeling grateful for her friendship and for the presence of all my girls, my comadres.

They gave it back to me. They woke it up … my groove. And they didn’t have to do anything, they were just there. They were present … they were the Shirley to my Laverne.

I walked into this Love Boat-Magnum PI-Gilligan’s Island-Fantasy Island-Luau type of party, and even though I walked in without my nautical or luau attire, for some reason it had gone MIA about an hour before I left and nobody knew nothing, there was still a good feeling, an instant smile, a feel-good vibe.

They didn’t care what I was wearing, they didn’t care that I was still the Chapstick type of girl who wore sandals instead of high heels, they just cared that I was there.

The thing is, with this group of ladies, these comadres, they know that there may be a lot wrong with me, but to them there’s a lot more that’s right. That’s what they see.

And that felt good.

My kids see that in me all the time, but it’s good when someone else can see you that way too. Someone who doesn’t watch Doc McStuffins or Star Wars Clone Wars.

So as you might have imagined, we celebrated this festive occasion the only way comadres can. We laughed, we danced, we talked, we remembered, we celebrated we let our freak flags fly and fly high. The DJ played tunes from our college days, and we of course hit the dance floor as if it was our college days. I had a few flip-flop malfunctions from all my Solid Gold dancer moves, but I continued on. And as people trickled off the dance floor, I continued to feel the music and work my groove. Then I noticed a girl at the party, smiling and chuckling as she watched me and my awesome dance moves.

champagne

🙂

I walked over to the coffee table, finished my drink, headed over to her, smiled and said …

“This is only my second glass of champagne.”

“I don’t believe you,” she said smiling back at me.

“No really, it’s only my second glass of champagne,” I insisted. “I’m running on me. This is all natural right here, baby. But this is my fifth brownie.”

I grabbed the brownie from the table, raised it up and took a bite.

She smiled and I headed back to the dance floor.

I ended up having three glasses of champagne that night, and eight brownies.

It was a good day.

Got my groove back and touched my soul thanks to some of my comadres.

8 Responses to “No Really It’s Only My Second Glass of Champagne, But This Is My Fifth Brownie”

  1. bgddyjim August 25, 2015 at 12:26 AM #

    FIVE brownies?! But, how? I mean, how could you possibly eat five brownies, literally? Did you skip dinner?

    Other than that, I love flyin’ the 40’s flag. It freaks my kids out and makes me smile.

    • The Guat August 25, 2015 at 12:58 AM #

      I know right? I don’t know what to tell you … I love chocolate 🙂 It was eight actually but they were minis so I guess it would count as five regular brownies. I had mostly appetizers. But then I ran two miles the next day.

      • The Guat August 25, 2015 at 12:59 AM #

        Definitely a great party with everyone flying their flag. 🙂

      • bgddyjim August 25, 2015 at 4:56 AM #

        Now you’re teasing… That’s a 10k’s worth of calories right there… No kidding either. Your average brownie is about 132 calories (28 gram or 1 oz)… Five of those is 660 calories, figure 75% of your weight per mile for a 9 minute mile, and you’re just about at a 10k. 6.2 miles.

        If that’s too much information, I apologize.

      • The Guat August 25, 2015 at 7:56 AM #

        Ha! You crack me up. The calories are all good I’m not one to worry about calories since my brownie and champagne moments don’t happen often, plus running six times a week allows me to splurge every now and then. It’s all good but thanks for the info though 🙂

      • bgddyjim August 25, 2015 at 8:58 AM #

        LOL! You got me, my bad.

  2. Ann Holman August 26, 2015 at 10:22 AM #

    I love your blog! I nominated you for the Sunshine Blogger Award! http://www.holmanese.com/2015/08/26/sushine-blogger-awards

    • The Guat September 5, 2015 at 1:16 AM #

      Thanks so much!!!! I totally appreciate you stopping by and checking out my adventures, hope they made you smile 🙂 Thanks so much for the Sunshine Award too, love that I can bring some your way 🙂 Have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

