I’m Pretty Sure My Kid Has Miss Viola Swamp This Year

17 Aug

3 out of 4

It seemed liked the odds were really in my favor, my son’s favor. It really did. But then I looked at the list and there it was the 25% that bit me on the ass.

Crap.

I stood there about ten minutes, hoping that I hadn’t read it right. Hoping that for some reason my Jedi mind tricks could magically rework the list. Hoping, no not really, praying that my kid would not have this chick as his teacher.

I had met her once before at the Open-House-Meet-Greet-Show-Off-Your-Kids-Work Conference. She was next door and they had encouraged all the parents to stop by all the classrooms to meet the possible future teachers for the following year.

I usually like everyone. It’s rare when people rub me the wrong way, but this chick with her negative attitude, dismissive nature, and non-welcoming personality burned me out. I would have understood if it was the end of the evening, but it was just an hour into it. I know a lot of teachers too, I know they put on their best face when parents come in, but this chick apparently forgot. This chick was Miss Viola Swamp. I left the room thinking, dude I hope my kid doesn’t even pass her in the hallway.

miss-nelson_02

Miss Viola Swamp

And then there he was on the list. Room 29.

Crap.

I shook my head in defeat, he would be at the mercy of Miss Viola Swamp. After a couple of hours, and some chocolate, something came over me. I got a little parent crazy for a minute. For some reason I found the need to investigate. Yup. If this chick, was going to be hanging out with my kid for seven hours a day, I figured I get some information on her. Maybe she was having an off day, when we met. Maybe she was hormonal. I don’t know. I was thinking of all kinds of excuses as to why someone would give off such a negative vibe.

Have you met this teacher? Do you know the type?

I was curious. The crazy overprotective parent in me wanted to find out more. But I wouldn’t say I went into stalker mode, more of an unlicensed private detective in search of answers.

There’s a lot you can find out about a teacher on the Internet, people put a lot of unnecessary information on Facebook, but nothing to excuse someone of jackass behavior. And you know she probably doesn’t even remember being a jackass, but I do. Meeting people matters.

I was never a huge fan of first impressions, I always tried to give people the benefit of the doubt, but they do seem to form 80% of my opinion. It’s like if you meet your all-time favorite actor, singer, player, author, or musician, and you’re so jazzed to have the opportunity to meet (although to be clear I wasn’t jazzed about this meeting, I was more just meeting someone and checking out the scene) and you have this picture of them in your head and then when you meet them, they just suck. Whether it had anything to do with you or not, that meeting taints your whole outlook on them from that point forward, and it takes a lot of work to change your perception.

So here I am, tainted and burned out by the fact that my kid ended up with the one teacher I wish he didn’t have.

I was so not looking forward to the beginning of the school year, although I had to hide that from my son. Didn’t want him going in with negative thoughts, so I just told him I didn’t know much about his new teacher, but that I’m sure he would get to know more about her on the first day of school, and that it would be a great day.

The day was done and my kid survived his first day without incident.

However, next week is Back To School Night, I don’t know if I’ll be able to say the same thing. Stay tuned.

.

.

13 Responses to “I’m Pretty Sure My Kid Has Miss Viola Swamp This Year”

  1. bgddyjim August 18, 2015 at 1:48 AM #

    Good luck!

    • The Guat August 25, 2015 at 1:08 AM #

      Thanks. I’m gonna need it.

  2. cravesadventure August 18, 2015 at 5:19 AM #

    Wishing you the BEST – like the saying goes “win the person over with kindness” – Good Luck!

    • The Guat August 25, 2015 at 1:10 AM #

      Thanks. Trying kindness but this here … boy I’m gonna need a whole lot of grace on this one.

  3. brickhousechick August 18, 2015 at 6:18 AM #

    Ay, ay! Que pena, Guat! Here is hoping that she is one of those teachers who loves the kids but it not crazy about the parents. As long as she’s good to your son!!! All my fingers and toes are crossed for you! 🙂

    There was an older teacher that my son had who DID NOT LIKE BOYS!!! Really. She was verbal about it and was always comparing how good her girls would behave. It was a very rough year and I spent a lot of time in that classroom like a helicopter. Then my daughter had her and she ADORED her and my daughter named her her favorite teacher ever. Go figure!

    • The Guat August 25, 2015 at 1:23 AM #

      Ay. Esta mujer me la va ser caudritos! I feel you with this one. I’m gonna have to feel her out and see how it goes. I know all kinds of teachers and some do have their preferences. I’m just hoping this lady will relax, otherwise I’m gonna have to let my inner helicopter parent out 🙂 I’ll fill you in as the semester continues.

  4. http://theenglishprofessoratlarge.com August 18, 2015 at 8:01 AM #

    Be charming. Be a fan. Be a parent who wants to help the teacher. Don’t antagonize her right away or she may retaliate with a negative attitude towards your son. You want her on YOUR SIDE.. If she is someone who basically doesn’t like her job or is a poor teacher, you’ll find out, and then it is time to talk to the Principal about having your son transferred to another class. My daughter had a high school teacher like that, someone who wanted to be in the military instead, and I changed her class to someone who was a dream instructor. Years later, I became a teacher myself, a very good one, and had positive relations, even with difficult parents, so I know how the game is played. Keep cool.

    • The Guat August 25, 2015 at 1:38 AM #

      Yeah it’s a pretty tricky line you have to walk. There are all kinds of consequences passive-aggressive actions or otherwise when it has to deal with teachers and the politics of teaching. Thanks for the reminders. Hopefully things will get better, but we’ll see. Keep you posted 🙂

  5. Marcia Clarke August 18, 2015 at 8:09 AM #

    Paciencia! 📚 or it will be a long, long year! 😂

    • The Guat August 25, 2015 at 1:38 AM #

      Ay chica! I’m working on it. Working on it 🙂

  6. anotherday2paradise August 19, 2015 at 6:25 PM #

    Maybe she’s a real sweetie in disguise. 🙂

    • The Guat August 25, 2015 at 1:40 AM #

      I don’t know … don’t think she’s like Ms. Nelson at all but maybe she’ll de-sour with time 🙂

Leave a Reply

