How Do You Wake Up In The Mornings?

10 Aug
:)

🙂

.

I learned that if I’m going to make it through the day, whether I know it’s going to be a crappy one or a great one, it all depends on how I roll out bed. Now mind you I’ve never been a morning person, never woke up with that bolt of lightning at 5 a.m. and was ready to rock.

Nope.

I’ve got to get myself ready to rock. It doesn’t seem to happen naturally for someone like myself, or for anyone that isn’t a morning person really.

And if you’ve got kids … forget about it.

You see, I’ve got kids and those of you without them can usually sleep in until maybe 9 a.m. on weekends, have a great lazy morning and enjoy the quiet of the day before it really begins.

You see when you’ve got kids you forget what it felt like to sleep in, although I imagine it gets better when they get older. But by that time in your life you’ve become a serious night owl waiting up for them making sure they made it home safely. But for now I’m still in the they-wake-me-up-way-too-early phase. Are you parent? Does this happen to you?

Yeah.

They usually wake me up all on their own at 6 a.m. whether we have to be somewhere or not. They’re the ever so reliable solar powered alarm clock with no snooze button.

So I’ve learned, sleep deprivation is just part of early parenthood. Maybe it continues I don’t know. But I’m in full swing right now.

I’ve learned how to bring The Guat back to Guat so early in the morning.

I’ve made some adjustments. Coffee would be a great pick-me-up and I know people who can’t live without it, but I’m not a big coffee drinker. I’m probably the only person on Earth that isn’t a morning coffee drinker, a parent non-coffee drinker. Who ever heard of such a thing?

But I’ve learned to function without coffee. I’ve learned that I need a moment of Zen before my kids wake up. I hate waking up at sunrise, but I hate it even more when I can’t get it together, when I’m going through the motions, or when I’m feeling off. It’s ugly.

Everything depends on how you wake up in the morning.

So no matter how painful, I wake up before they do, even if it’s just ten minutes and I get my ten minutes to start the day. In quiet. In peace. In meditative state. If it’s 30 minutes, which it usually is these days I get in work out mode, visualization mode, gratitude mode and Zen mode and it’s all good … because then I can get in The Guat mode.

Hope you get into your mode this morning.

.

.

10 Responses to “How Do You Wake Up In The Mornings?”

  1. Deborah the Closet Monster August 11, 2015 at 2:23 AM #

    I think this is something small that’s nevertheless been challenging to me; with J, it’s difficult to predict when he’s going to awaken, so I only actually get those few moments of morning zen maybe one or two mornings a week. (Oh, how I appreciate those mornings!) It does seem to be evening it a little, and I have hope I’ll start consistently having those few moments to myself again.

    I do enjoy coffee, but I’m working on eliminating it from my diet. I seem to be okay with a cup a day, but if I have a single half-cup more (as I did yesterday) … forget about sleep. If something impacts me that dramatically, and not in a rockin’ way, I feel like my life’s better without it long term.

    • The Guat August 14, 2015 at 5:17 PM #

      It is tough to gauge when the kids wake up, but for the most part they’re pretty regular except on weekends…it’s like they know it’s the weekend and their pattern varies, that’s when I just get ten minutes. But ten is ten. And most people I know are coffee drinkers and can’t be themselves in the AM without it. Some try to cut down but for some reason under stressful morning they pick it back up again. Good luck on your caffeine free quest 🙂

  2. Jackie Cangro August 11, 2015 at 6:04 PM #

    I’ve always been a morning person, but even so, I get up a bit earlier than necessary to get myself together. I hate feeling rushed and frantic in the morning. Sets my whole day on a bad note.
    But you do all that without caffeine? if you could only drink coffee, you’d be Super Guat!

    • The Guat August 14, 2015 at 5:13 PM #

      Duuuuuuuuuude the getting-yourself-together time seems soooooo crucial right? I wasn’t aware of that little tid bit of information until my oldest was like four! Duuuuude would have saved myself so much stress! I hate feeling rushed and frantic too totally burns me out. And yes … no coffee here. Just pure Guat adrenaline…which is probably why I get reeeeaaaally tired by Friday. 🙂

  3. Ann Holman August 12, 2015 at 1:16 AM #

    Waking up before my son is a must! I also prep everything for the following day to maximize “me” time (and to help out on the oversleeping days!)

    • The Guat November 26, 2016 at 12:11 AM #

      First off I want to apologize for just seeing your comment. I have just checked something called the “pending” folder in the comments section and found all these comments from previous posts!! So sorry to have gotten back to you so late, but nevertheless I appreciate you reading and leaving a message even though I never saw it … until today. Hope you still working on the “me” time before the kids wake up.

  4. The Good Greatsby August 12, 2015 at 11:31 AM #

    I’ve read the book Eat That Frog by Brian Tracy and I’ve really tried to adopt that philosophy. It makes sense to do your most difficult task first and then the rest of the day feels easy in comparison. But I’ve also had a lot of days when my first task was so unpleasant that I ended up doing nothing else because I kept procrastinating eating the frog. Right now I’m considering a new morning philosophy based on sleeping late and skipping the morning.

    • The Guat August 14, 2015 at 5:09 PM #

      Ha! Good Greatsby! Good to hear from you!! Yes sleeping late and skipping the morning sound awesome, although seeing how my kids are still of the Nickelodeon age I doubt that will ever happen. 🙂 I haven’t read Eat The Frog, I will totally have to look that up seems like it would help your day flow better, right?

  5. anotherday2paradise August 12, 2015 at 4:17 PM #

    You’ll get there one day, TG. We set our alarm for 6-30 even though we don’t have to get up early. It’s really nice not having to wait up for teenage kids any more. That was the worst. 🙂

    • The Guat August 14, 2015 at 5:11 PM #

      Thanks for the encouragement and waking up at 6:30 without kids? Power to you sister! But you probably get so much more out of your morning that way. 🙂 I realized now that I have kids that my mornings seem to be so busy as opposed to when I was single. 🙂

Leave a Reply

