Different is Definitely Beautiful

13 Jul

IMG_1811

Ever seen something so unique that it just stops you in your tracks?

Happened to me today.

As we were hanging out at the aquarium celebrating my little ones 4th birthday we came across this beauty. I had no idea something like this existed. It was so amazing that we stood there in awe of this awesome creature … The Leafy Seadragon. Other than exploring Shark Lagoon, and being able to pet baby sharks as a celebration to the end of Shark Week, this was probably my favorite exhibit.

It reminded my that in the ocean world where all kinds of creatures can be found beautiful because of their colors, strength, size, intelligence, or power, uniqueness is still something that stands out. In the real world people don’t always seem to appreciate the essence of being different.

This was such a good reminder that even if you don’t fit the mold, even if you are different, even if you don’t fit the beauty norm, you’re extraordinary because you are different and that is captivating and that is beautiful. And the thing is the seadragon wasn’t even trying, it was just being itself.

I never forget to be myself, sometimes I get lost in parenthood but my essence is still there. It’s brought back to life with my triathlons, my Hour of Power morning routine, books, movies, races, kids, comadres, and meditation. I don’t forget who I am, I don’t forget why I’m different, but the Leafy Seadragon just reminded me to keep embracing it because that’s what makes me awesome. That’s what makes my kids awesome.

Don’t forget your own awesomeness.

.

.

4 Responses to “Different is Definitely Beautiful”

  1. cravesadventure July 14, 2015 at 5:10 AM #

    Own your UNIQUENESS and Embrace It – love that 🙂 I saw some unique and colorful spiders who also were like web engineers on Saturday – post coming out next week – stay tuned. Happy Day – Enjoy!

    • The Guat July 14, 2015 at 1:53 PM #

      Isn’t it a trip how these animals totally bring something out of you. They have this awesome quality in them and it sparks your memory. Very cool. I can’t wait to read your post, and see pics. Thanks for stopping by.

  2. anotherday2paradise July 15, 2015 at 1:31 PM #

    A really great message, TG. Happy birthday to your little star. 😍

    • The Guat July 16, 2015 at 12:10 AM #

      Thanks! That seahorse was pretty amazing. It was so cool to watch.

Leave a Reply

