40 Accidentally on Purpose Random Acts of Kindness Before 40 … No.15, No.16, No.17 …

1 Jul

Father’s Day Weekend seemed to kick off a series of Guat flashbacks where I owned every color of Levi jeans possible and Boy George was on the radio. I was reminded of the time when I had no kids and I was actually I kid myself, with a curfew and chores to accomplish.

During these flashbacks I was reminded of bits and pieces of what my Dad seemed to enjoy. A good cup of coffee. A good movie on TV or the Big Screen. I remembered how both of these things stirred up some good conversation, how we’d both laugh and argue, and be blown away by something that we saw in the movie, or something that we said about our lives.

During these coffee and movie flashbacks, I also remembered all the ball caps he wore. SuperBowl. Baseball. Football. Golf. Souvenir touristy caps. He had them all. For some reason he’d always take off his hat when drinking coffee. I don’t know if it made him hot, but he seemed to relax more without it. He’d put it on the table or couch, or hang it off the chair and take a deep breath, trying to exhale all the bad vibes of the day. Or just exhale all the weariness.

I remember those three favorites specifically. Coffee. Movies. Ball caps. They’re not really the sum of his life, just the simple things I see everyday that remind me of him.

:)

🙂

So in honor of some of my dad’s favorites things, I decided to give a few lucky people some unexpected kindness. The first on my list was something he always enjoyed in the morning and after dinner. Apparently some people just can’t live without it. They can’t function. Me, I just have it once a year, on his birthday. Have a cup of coffee and talk about life. But it seems that for others it’s an everyday occurrence. Yup. Coffee. A cup of coffee.

It’s simple but it seems to make people happy, although the lady with the Lady of Guadalupe picture on her dashboard could have used the Starbucks card I gave her for some tea. I’d understand that. Tea I can do. In any case I know that something small like that would have made someone’s day, especially in the morning.

Now the afternoon, well that’s another story. Seeing how the summer has kicked in full blast in my neck of the woods and the heat has been bringing it on a daily basis, I figured someone would have enjoyed a little shade. So I got someone a nice home team ball cap. Don’t know if they were die-hard Dodgers fans, but I figured the little decal on the back windshield was a good clue. Personal shade is extremely important in 90+ degree heat. I’m sure my Dad would have agreed.

Now once things cooled down at night I thought someone would have enjoyed a pair of tickets to see an action or drama flick. A lot films coming out this summer that take you away from your life for just a couple of hours. My Dad always enjoyed an escape especially if Robert DeNiro was involved, or if there was a car chase or dramatic A-Ha! moment that made you think duuuuude I didn’t even see that coming. Those were my dad favorites, so I thought I would give someone that movie magic experience too.

I was able to remain anonymous this time, which helped me imagine the recipients better. I always picture  them smiling, never sassy, and always with this confused happy look when they read my notes. Always hoping that I’ve made their day better. I think my Dad would have enjoyed these bits and pieces of kindness, hope they did too.

.

.

6 Responses to “40 Accidentally on Purpose Random Acts of Kindness Before 40 … No.15, No.16, No.17 …”

  1. susielindau July 2, 2015 at 5:46 AM #

    Nice! Great memories and way to pay it forward.

    • The Guat July 10, 2015 at 2:30 PM #

      This one was a little extra special, just for that reason. Thanks for stopping by to read.

  2. TBM July 5, 2015 at 4:37 AM #

    How nice and I’m sure your dad would love it.

    • The Guat July 10, 2015 at 2:32 PM #

      He would have got kick out if it, and cracked up at this mini mission of mine. But these seemed a little extra special because I thought about my dad. Thanks for reading buddy.

  3. teachezwell July 25, 2015 at 9:14 AM #

    What a great idea! I want to try that!

    • The Guat July 30, 2015 at 1:00 AM #

      It ended up being a very cool challenge on the way to 40 🙂

Leave a Reply

