40 Accidentally on Purpose Random Acts of Kindess Before 40 … No. 12, No. 13, No. 14 Inflating The Happiness Bubble

17 Jun

I realized that the little things add up. I mean throughout the course of the day if you get a couple of nice surprises your way it just fills your happiness bubble and it makes you smile. It’s nice when someone adds to your happiness bubble instead of trying to burst it. Especially when it’s unexpected.

I get a kick out of that. But I realized this week that not everybody enjoys an unexpected surprise.

Not everybody.

:)

🙂

Last week I was on a mission to perk up your cars. If you live in California they’re a very big part of getting you anywhere and it’s always nice to find something that helps make that cruise more pleasant. They’re a necessity out here and I thought people always need help with that. So as I came across a couple of opportunities to make someone’s day easier, I thought why not lets add to the 40 Before 40 List.

Now there were a couple of items that I decided to pass along to a few innocent bystanders. On one occasion it was about 90 something degrees where I live, and as I opened my door to my truck, the heat just smacked the smile off my face and I winced. It was so hot in there and the steering wheel burned. I mean I could see the heatwaves rising from it. So I had to give it a couple of minutes to cool off, and as I stood there fanning the inside of my truck, I thought man if I had window shades, opening the car door would probably suck less.

So I went off and bought a window shade for myself and one for someone else. As I drove through various parts of the city getting my kids to different summer events, I stopped at one of the parking lots and spotted the sandal-brown Nissan Xterra that seemed to be melting in the sun. I took out the jumbo car shade, placed it on the windshield, left one of my 40 Before 40 notes, and went on my way feeling good.

But that feeling didn’t last the whole week as I decided to buy someone a car wash. I thought it would be something nice to do. I mean with the drought and everything, people are waiting for their cars to be pretty dirty before washing them. So I thought, why not help out at one of those drive-thru car washing operations by taping one of my notes and the car wash code I’d purchased on the keypad that people use before entering the car wash.

But apparently the chic wearing sunglasses in the brown Prius objected as she rolled down the window and asked me what I was doing, and why I was doing that, and saying how she didn’t want anything. I couldn’t believe it. I was trying to be undercover and go unnoticed but she pulled up just in the middle of my good deed. After her hostile mood passed I explained that I was trying to give someone a free car wash, she was more than welcome to take it, but if she didn’t want it, she didn’t have to.

I walked away from that one not feeling the great feeling I usually get when I do these things. She was poking at my bubble.

But I didn’t let that discourage me from helping someone else. I thought I had to end on a good note. I had to believe that there were others out there that would smile, and feel good about random acts of kindness landing on them. I wanted to believe that. So earlier this week, I purchased a gift card from Costco and made my way toward their gas station area. I put in a few gallons for myself, then I  taped the gift card onto my note and stuck it on the pump. I quickly got into the truck and drove off before the cars behind could notice.

Pulling away made me hopeful. Made me think that the dude or chic would get out of the car and see this opportunity for free gas and smile. They’d look around for my truck, trying to figure out where I had gone, or what had just happened. And then smile because it would finally hit them … ‘Something nice just happened to me,’ and their happiness bubble would inflate just a little bit more.

I want to believe that.

I want to hope that happened, because that’s what this is all about, spreading kindness and having it touch somebody.

.

.

8 Responses to “40 Accidentally on Purpose Random Acts of Kindess Before 40 … No. 12, No. 13, No. 14 Inflating The Happiness Bubble”

  1. Cayman Thorn June 18, 2015 at 7:27 PM #

    Some day, I hope my daughter is just like you. Keep up these AMAZING deeds. I’m proud of you!

    • The Guat June 21, 2015 at 12:59 AM #

      Ahhhhh thanks 🙂 what an awesome thing to say and what a way to make my day! Thanks buddy, you always leave some goodness here. Have a great Father’s Day Weekend.

  2. brickhousechick June 19, 2015 at 3:43 PM #

    I love how you keep going even after being yelled at by a cranky lady! It’s pretty sad how paranoid we have become that we distrust anyone trying to be randomly kind. BTW muchacha, when is the BIG DAY again??? 🙂

    • The Guat June 21, 2015 at 1:07 AM #

      Yeah that lady tripped me out. I always thought people would be happy or at least smile when something nice happened to them but she was not too pleased. Yup paranoid sounds about right. So hoping the rest of my adventures are undercover. And the Big Day is next month on the 26, so I’m closing in on the count 🙂

  3. marydpierce June 19, 2015 at 6:21 PM #

    You are so freakin’ awesome! What a nice thing to do. Boo to the lady in the Prius who is sadly cynical. For what it’s worth, I would totally except a free car wash from you or anyone. My husband and I are putting together a Little Free Library to add to a neighborhood nearby. Keep spreading the love.

    • The Guat June 21, 2015 at 1:12 AM #

      Awwwww thanks Mary. Yeah that lady was a trip that the first negative reaction I’d gotten. So next time I’ll make sure the coast is clear. It’s better imagining them with a happy face, the reality of cynical people take the air out of my balloon a bit. But not enough to stop my kindness quest. And how awesome is it that you’ve started a Free Library! Dude high-five to you! Keep spreading the kindness.

  4. TBM June 22, 2015 at 2:33 AM #

    How kind of you. Love the lady getting mad. Some people are never happy. I used to deliver newspapers, and some days we had to deliver papers for free to certain houses to try to get them to subscribe. I hated those days. I would get angry message. People really hate a free newspaper. And there was no obligation to buy.

    • The Guat July 10, 2015 at 2:19 PM #

      People like that totally burn me out. The thing is some of them have lost their gratitude.i know if I ever get anything for free duuuuude I’m totally smiling.

Leave a Reply

