Bits and Pieces of Color … Well … A Lot of Color

15 Jun

I tried to slow down to take it all in, but they just wanted to go, go, go!

They wanted to get their shine on, they wanted to get the fun going, while I was trying to relive an awesome moment from last year. I was trying to slow the process down, trying to have them enjoy it a little more. Savor it maybe. But kids don’t savor much. They devour stuff. Good stuff. Oreo cookies. Ben & Jerry’s Ice Cream. Doritos. So it was no wonder they wanted to get to the action as quickly as possible. They wanted that awesome feeling, so it was no surprise that they ran like The Flash during the Color Run just to get to it.

So after the first ten minutes I just let them go.

I let go of my expectations and I let my kids run wild among colors, and things turned out just fine. With the help of some uphill climbs we were able to meet somewhere in the middle, and that was pretty cool too. The middle is cool. I was still able to capture some pretty awesome Kodak moments, and absorb the energy, the feeling, and the happiness of our moments, and for that I was grateful.

Everyone, including myself, tries for the big moments in life. They seem the most rewarding, but sometimes life is made up of little accomplishments that end up becoming bits and pieces of who you are as a person, parent, or family. I was grateful to have added more of these pieces to my life and to that of my kids. Bits and pieces of color … well a lot of color.

The beginning ... a crowded one. But still a good one full of music, bubbles, and good vibes.

The beginning … a crowded one. But still a good one full of music, bubbles, and good vibes.

.

Ready to rock!

Ready to rock!

.

Feeling blue.

Feeling blue.

.

Took a spin through the orange.

Took a spin through the orange.

.

The Guats letting our awesome out.

The Guats letting our awesome out.

.

.

14 Responses to “Bits and Pieces of Color … Well … A Lot of Color”

  1. bgddyjim June 16, 2015 at 12:56 AM #

    Now THAT’S a happy ORANGE kid!

    • The Guat June 17, 2015 at 4:04 PM #

      She was loving it, although she enjoyed the glitter section the most and the end of race party brought some awesome smiles. Great fun with kids, I don’t even think they realized they ran/walked three miles.

      • bgddyjim June 17, 2015 at 4:20 PM #

        Awesome.

  2. susielindau June 16, 2015 at 7:31 AM #

    I was just talking about this to my husband. I enjoy the expectations of an event even if it’s mundane like baking so much more than actually doing it. Ha! Note to self: Must lower expectations.

    • The Guat June 17, 2015 at 4:09 PM #

      Ha, what trip! Same conversation πŸ™‚ But don’t give up, never πŸ™‚ just ease up… That’s what I meant … Maybe I should go back and clarify, don’t want people giving up. Just trying not to force the moment. Duuuuuuuuuude as a mom I totally had to ease up and let go a little once I did that it was good. Little moment became pretty big piece, that happens with me and baking, and my Soprano cooking too πŸ™‚

  3. teachezwell June 16, 2015 at 6:23 PM #

    How did you get that last photo? It’s stunning!

    • The Guat June 17, 2015 at 4:15 PM #

      Oh I love this photo! Sort of captures all the fun! It happened at the end of the race … Party with the music at the finish-line stage. They had music and just as the chorus was building up, they counted down and whoosh! All that color and me snapping away and whooshing my own color too. It was so much fun! a great-feeling kind of day πŸ™‚ the kids loved this part too.

      • teachezwell June 19, 2015 at 11:15 AM #

        What a clever way to get that effect: having fun!

  4. Jackie Cangro June 17, 2015 at 3:20 AM #

    I love that sign: The happiest 5k in the world. Now that’s happy! πŸ™‚

    • The Guat June 17, 2015 at 4:17 PM #

      Duuuuuuuuude we had such a great time! That happy feeling continues at the finish line party and on the drive home. So glad I was able to get my kids to do this. They really liked it and had no idea they trekked three miles πŸ™‚

  5. lameadventures June 17, 2015 at 8:43 PM #

    The Little Guats are looking so big to me. Soon, I’ll be thinking of them as The Not So Little Guats. They definitely seemed to be in their bliss. I sense that you were, too.

    • The Guat June 17, 2015 at 9:40 PM #

      It was a very cool day, felt like all the negative crap sort of drowned in color and we were just being happy in the moment. It was such a simple thing, getting splashed with color, but it rocked our day πŸ™‚ they had so much fun, especially at the finish line. Up next we got that crazy triathlon, my son will probably do great, me … I can feel 40 already in my knees πŸ™‚ but I’m on it, got my BenGay and ice πŸ™‚ good to see you around V πŸ™‚

      • lameadventures June 18, 2015 at 4:39 AM #

        40 might be the new 30, but I have noticed that the joints don’t buy into that spin. Wait until you enter your fifties, the era of The Morning Cough. You’ll long to be 40-49 again. Even if you don’t come in first in the race I have faith that you and Not So Little Guat will both cross the finish line.

    • The Guat June 17, 2015 at 9:51 PM #

      Dude and you’re right they are getting not-so little 😦 Sigh.

Leave a Reply

