I’m All About Closure

20 May

I guess I was in a state of … this is it? And it took me about 48 hours to adjust to that reality with plenty of chocolate to assist in the matter.

.

Image via AMC.com

Image via AMC.com

.

And it wasn’t a bad kind of reality, but a dude-it’s-over-kind-of-a-way reality. You’ve invested eight years in this dude and you want to be able to see him through this, to be able to part ways and feel like everything will be all right.

I couldn’t believe it had finished because it was such a big part of my Sunday evenings, and I was hoping for an amazing ending, for closure, for an awesome Breaking-Bad-Sons-of-Anarchy-The-Wire kind of ending without deaths. But things tend to be more subtle in Don Draper’s world.

The future was left in the hands of a Coke commercial with plenty of room for interpretation, Sopranos-style if you will. Although the lives of some characters were wrapped up nicely. Pete’s growth throughout the series culminates with a happily ever after, while Joan once again suffers a breakup, but it doesn’t break her. She makes it on her own by creating Holloway & Harris, the best of both her worlds.

But the ending that surprised me was Peggy’s, I didn’t think the creators would give her love. But she found both love and career, and for some reason that revelation made me giddy.

All these character endings made me think of my own writing, and the type of endings I write for my stories and for the characters that live there. I realized, I’m not big on leaving things up for interpretation. I like to leave lives wrapped up with a strong indication of what the future holds. Uncertainty doesn’t sit well with me in series finales, movies, or books. I want to feel like I know, or even have an inkling, as to how things are going to go for my character. I don’t like leaving things up in the air.

Life is up in the air.

I’d like my stories to be better than that.

I’m all about closure. It helps me sleep better, especially when I’ve connected to the character and feel like a part of me, is like a part of him or her. The connection is what drives me as a fan, and a writer. So if I had to pick sides I guess I’d be all about closure. It sits well with me, feels right to know.

What about you? What’s your side?

.

.

5 Responses to “I’m All About Closure”

  1. susielindau May 21, 2015 at 8:38 AM #

    I haven’t watched more than a couple of shows. Danny and I will binge-watch it over the summer!

    • The Guat May 21, 2015 at 9:02 AM #

      The first three-four seasons are definitely the best, but the show is good overall. Really great writing. I really enjoyed the characters, they were a trip. And then the last season is always sad because you know it’s over. Definitely recommend it.

      • susielindau May 21, 2015 at 10:06 AM #

        The few times I watched it, I found Don Draper to have sociopathic tendencies. He seemed to have no guilt!!!

  2. Cayman Thorn May 22, 2015 at 6:04 AM #

    I read where the creator fessed up to Don Draper being the mind behind that Coke ad after all. But I’m with you. I want an SOA ending….show me how this story finishes, don’t leave me guessing….

    • The Guat May 27, 2015 at 11:09 AM #

      I saw that piece too like a few days after the post and I was like well duuuuuude. But yeah … SOA/Breaking Bad spectacular is a better way to go. Have you seen Bloodline on Netflix yet? Duuuuuude.

Leave a Reply

