40 Accidentally On Purpose Random Acts of Kindness Before 40 … No. 8

26 Mar

I think the best part of it is leaving the notes and imagining their expressions.

It would be nice to see their reactions, I’ll give you that. Confusion. Disbelief. And then a pause. A moment when they realize it’s a good surprise and that’s when the smile appears. Something good has happened to them, but they don’t know why. And it just makes things good … for a moment it makes things good.

But for them to see me? Nah I like to keep things under cover when I can.

I hope they feel something when it happens. Although sometimes people don’t really appreciate the little things and it’s sad when that happens. But kids … they get happy when anything happens. So this time I thought I’d pay it forward to a future dreamer, who enjoys surprises and can do cartwheels when moments of awesome happen to them … dreamers with a bat and glove …

It’s always the bottom of the ninth, and you’re losing, with two outs, full count, and bases loaded.

That’s how it always happens when you’re practicing in the batting cages. You got your helmet, your Big League Chew gum, and your Babe Ruth confidence. It’s gonna happen. You walk up, bring the that around, and swing.

Smack!

You win the game and you round the bases like a champion.

That’s what’s going on in the cage.

My son is still young so I don’t know if he has that vision yet, all I know is that he’s happy when he sends that yellow ball flying. It puts a big smile on his face.That little connection gives him a boost of confidence, and he does the happy dance.

So when we finished a couple of rounds in the cage it hit me … this is it. This is where it’s gonna happen. I want to give someone a moment of happy. I want a kid to feel like Derek Jeter.

:)

                                      🙂

So I bought a couple of tokens, borrowed some tape, and wrote my note.

I left the tokens on top of a couple of machines with a message …

Everything is Awesome!

Here’s 30 balls on us. Hope you hit a homer.

🙂 40 Random Acts of Kindness

My son looked a little confused and didn’t understand why I had left the tokens on the machines. When he asked me why I had done that, I said it’s always good to be kind to people. It’s always nice to find moments when you can be kind, when you find a chance to do that, make sure you do. It gives you a good feeling.

He smiled and gave me a thumbs up.

4 Responses to “40 Accidentally On Purpose Random Acts of Kindness Before 40 … No. 8”

  1. kaleb423 March 30, 2015 at 10:46 PM #

    This is so awesome! I gotta try to do something like this to pay it forward someday. Might have to add this to my bucket list. Great story!

    • The Guat March 31, 2015 at 9:22 AM #

      Thanks! I thought the concept was pretty cool when it hit me and I was so weirded out with the Big 4-0 just around the corner I thought I turn it around a bit and put a positive light on it and throughout this adventure I’m finding that I’m enjoying each random act if kindness, and giving surprises. Paying it Forward definitely rocks hope you get a chance to some of that 🙂

      • kaleb423 March 31, 2015 at 9:25 AM #

        I’ve done some paying it forward myself (I’ve even started blogging about it and putting videos on YouTube) and it’s probably the greatest feeling in the world to help someone out or to brighten up someone’s day unexpectedly. I’ll be sure to read on some more of your kind acts! 😉

      • The Guat March 31, 2015 at 5:54 PM #

        I’ll have to check yours out, I don’t do video. I’m lame. But it would be cool to see a random act from concept to completion the reactions are probably awesome. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

