When BenGay Isn’t Gonna Be Strong Enough … But You Do It Anyway

21 Mar

I’m confessing something big tonight.

HUGE.

Duuuuuuude

There is fear living in the Guat Household.

My knees are freaking out.

Now normally I’m not afraid of much. Neither are they.

I’m fearless.

I’m a badass, not afraid to fly my freak flag. Not afraid to chase Bucket List Adventure Challenges. Scared of what? Bungy Jumping. No. Skydiving. No. Triathlons. No. Warrior Dash Mud Run Obstacles that make you jump through fire. No. The Mommy-and-Me-Mafia-PTA-Looking group of ladies that take over the park. No. Gaining weight. Hell no bring it on.

But there is one thing that makes my close-to-40-year-old-worn-out-and weary knees tremble.

Wobble.

63 floors.

Close to 1,400 steps.

Ain’t no BenGay strong enough, no ice pack cold enough …

But there is one man that’s inspirational enough …

My Dad.

14

My Dad and me sporting our awesome bell-bottoms.

He lost the 12-Round-Heavyweight Championship Bout against Interstitial Lung Disease at 62 years young. It was an all out battle and he fought hard, but in the end he lost his fight against the disease, and I lost my father.

So this is it.

Time for me to cowboy up.

On April 11th, I’m taking on The Fight For Air Climb again in what seems to be the ultimate battle of strength and will for my bones and cartilage. It’s become a tradition now. Exhausting and claustrophobic, but worth it.

Honoring family is worth it, and that’s what I aim to do.

Hanging with Dad.

Hanging with Dad.

So I’m going to take my Hulk Hogan-Randy-Macho-Man-Savage-Tina-Turner-looking quads and run down knees through the ultimate test of the year.

I’m gonna do it for my Dad.

My Dad ... just being Dad

My Dad … just being Dad

He’s still with me, sometimes on my shoulders whispering in my ear while I’m chasing dreams, and sometimes in my heart when I’m raising my kids and I’m trying to be awesome at something. He’s the champion for my life. He’s the spirit behind my drive. My Dad is there in one of his many baseball caps and smile, being my friend, my TV buddy, my support group, and the TV remote control ruler of the house.

I’ll be taking this on next month and if you’re feeling generous with the need to donate to a good cause, feel free to click the link on the bottom and it will guide you to my personal fundraising page.

Buen Camino Everyone!

Fight For Air Climb Fundraising Page

… Siganme Los Buenos!

7 Responses to “When BenGay Isn’t Gonna Be Strong Enough … But You Do It Anyway”

  1. Krystal March 23, 2015 at 1:43 AM #

    What a beautiful post, Guat! I literally teared up. Sorry to hear about your dad’s battle and for your loss. Good luck on your with your air climb! 😀

    • Krystal March 23, 2015 at 1:44 AM #

      Oh dear, look at those typos. Good luck with your air climb! 😀 Haha!

      • The Guat March 27, 2015 at 3:56 PM #

        Nooooooo worries I got you 🙂

    • The Guat March 27, 2015 at 3:55 PM #

      Thanks a lot Krystal, it’s always tough during the holidays and Father’s Day, but this is the one thing a year I try my hardest to accomplish in his honor. Intense climb for sure, but definitely worth it. 🙂

  2. susielindau March 24, 2015 at 6:57 AM #

    You really are the coolest! Go GUAT!

    • The Guat March 24, 2015 at 6:41 PM #

      Thanks Susie … Sometimes the Marty McFly in me gets an extra boost of badass cool courage 🙂

      • susielindau March 25, 2015 at 6:48 AM #

        You are the badassedest!

Leave a Reply

