40 Accidentally On Purpose Random Acts of Kindness Before 40 … No. 6

7 Mar

Nobody knew why, or who, it was just something nice that happened to them. Something that made them smile. Something that made their day better. Something that helped turn it around.

And most of the time it was an anonymous blessing.

They had no idea. And I enjoyed the fact that they had no idea who I was, just that some stranger decided to change the course of their day with a small gesture.

But this time I felt the need to leave a note explaining why …

 

40 before 40

40 before 40

 

I don’t remember the exact age but I knew it was in middle school. It was graduation day when I got them. And it wasn’t those fake plastic ones you got in those Valentine’s Grams. They were real roses wrapped in cellophane and when he gave them to me it felt like one of those Sixteen Candles moments. And it felt good that someone liked me. It was a nice gesture and it made my day.

I placed them in a glass of water because we didn’t have a vase. But it didn’t matter, they looked awesome and I enjoyed them the whole week.

So when I saw the flowers hanging out in the last aisle at Costco and my daughter told me she wanted some because they made her happy, I thought why not.

I like to keep her happy.

And then I thought I could make someone else happy too. I wanted someone to have that Sixteen Candles moment, but I worried what if a guy got the flowers and his lady was with him, or what if a girl got the flowers from an anonymous somebody and her husband was with her and he freaked out. I don’t know the dynamics of people’s relationships, but I sure didn’t want my 40 Before 40 Accidentally On Purpose Random Act of Kindness to cause drama. I wanted it to cause happy.

So I had to leave a note this time.

I walked back to the car and put away my month’s supply of Arm & Hammer Detergent Soap, OxyClean, and other household items. Then I looked for a car that gave me a feeling. Nothing to fancy, just something for a regular person. I spotted the white Scion parked in the other lane. And it was the right vibe.

I grabbed a pen and paper and wrote my note. I wrapped it around the flowers then walked over and placed them snugly between the side mirror and driver’s side door.

 

Flowers always seem to brighten someone’s day.

They’re here because you’re awesome.

Hope you have a terrific Thursday.

🙂

40 Random Acts of Kindness Before I turn 40

 

 

Felt good knowing that as soon as they walked back to their car, from the long lines, from the packed aisles, from the trays that ran out of samples, that something nice was waiting for them. And no drama would follow.

 

 

4 Responses to “40 Accidentally On Purpose Random Acts of Kindness Before 40 … No. 6”

  1. brickhousechick March 8, 2015 at 5:52 PM #

    Oh Guat! You continue to amaze and inspire me, muchacha! I love that you are doing this challenge before your 40s. What a way to bring in a new stage of your life. We could all use more people like you in our lives. 🙂 xo

    • The Guat March 27, 2015 at 4:36 PM #

      I’m glad this thing came out to me. It’s a good thing for me, especially when I was feeling all weird-ed out about the whole 40 thing and I thought putting the emphasis on something positive would help me look forward to something bigger than just me. And I’m liking the effects that are slowly taking place.

  2. anotherday2paradise March 9, 2015 at 12:33 PM #

    Lovely thought, TG. I’m sure they made someone smile. 🙂

    • The Guat March 27, 2015 at 4:38 PM #

      Hope so, if not I probably gave them a good feeling about the Costco parking lot.

Leave a Reply

