40 Accidentally On Purpose Random Acts of Kindness Before 40 … No. 5

23 Feb

I don’t know if I was feeling bitter … more like burned out and disappointed rolled up in one.

It was a pretty crappy emotional cocktail.

It wouldn’t seem like much to a lot of people, but for me it was kind of something.

A Night Out.

That’s something. Definitely for someone who doesn’t get a lot of them as babysitting is a rare thing. A Night Out. It’s a simple moment that recharges your battery, but that didn’t happen for me last week. When I found out it wasn’t going to happen I got so burned out about the whole situation. But I didn’t stay home and sulk, although I felt like it.

Instead I went out with my kids and tried to have a family fun night at our favorite Italian restaurant. And what I found was an opportunity to make someone else’s Night Out much better.

Their date night actually.

While standing in line waiting for my order I overheard a couple, maybe in their early 70s, talking about the wine selection and not being really sure whether or not to buy a bottle. They talked about it being their night out and maybe splurging a little. As their linguine and clams came up they hadn’t decided what to do. I looked at the wine selection myself and grabbed the bottle of Malbec they were contemplating. They smiled and nodded their heads. I placed it on my tray.

“Is that any good?” They asked.

“Don’t know, but thought I’d give it a try. You guys seemed so interested. Thought I’d give it a chance.” I said.

They smiled at each other and put a bottle on their tray.

As they reached the front of the line, I waved at the cashier and pointed to the bottle.

“Hey, hey … that bottle is on me.”

 

40 before 40

40 before 40

 

 

They turned to look at me, confused.

“Have a great date night.” I said smiling.

“What?”

“Yeah … have a great date night. Drinks are one me.”

They gave me their thanks and walked to their table.

The bitterness, and burned out feeling was no longer there. I wasn’t upset or sad about missing out, because I had gained something by giving. I realized that just because I couldn’t have a Night Out myself, didn’t mean I couldn’t spread some happiness to those that were already out.

 

 

11 Responses to “40 Accidentally On Purpose Random Acts of Kindness Before 40 … No. 5”

  1. Sreejith Nair February 24, 2015 at 2:03 AM #

    That is one beautiful little act to spread happiness 🙂

    Loved it 🙂

    • The Guat April 19, 2015 at 12:18 AM #

      Thanks SO much! Sorry for the delayed response! Your comment ended up in the Spam folder. I don’t know why or how it happened. I’m going to have to start looking in this folder more often. A lot of comments get lost in here. But thanks so much for reading and coming back to check these stories out. I really appreciate it. 🙂

  2. brickhousechick February 24, 2015 at 6:40 PM #

    You are so awesome, Guat!!! I am so loving these acts of kindness. You are inspiring me as well! 🙂

    • The Guat March 12, 2015 at 12:37 AM #

      They were such a cute couple and I was like you’re on date night, well then it’s on! Drinks on me. 🙂 Glad you enjoyed the story and that inspiration hit 🙂

  3. anotherday2paradise February 25, 2015 at 8:08 AM #

    Wonderful! 🙂

    • The Guat March 12, 2015 at 12:38 AM #

      I was totally happy to make their date night rock.

  4. lameadventures February 25, 2015 at 8:25 PM #

    I’ll drink to that.

    • The Guat March 12, 2015 at 12:39 AM #

      Cheers baby! Was so glad I could do something for them, they seemed like such a nice couple.

  5. Apple Pie & Napalm February 27, 2015 at 10:49 PM #

    You are the best, I know you gave them a kindness never forgotten.

    • The Guat March 12, 2015 at 12:40 AM #

      I was just glad I could help make their night even better and maybe give them a good story to tell their friends about that one time they had date night at the Italian place… very sweet couple.

Leave a Reply

