Buen Camino

9 Feb

Not  a lot things make it on my list nowadays.

Nothing new.

Nothing of substance that grabs my attention or speaks to my Guat soul. Ordinary things that I meant to try often get penciled in, but extraordinary, no not recently.

But sometimes inspiration actually finds you.

It speaks to you through story or film.

And I was thankful that it did.

Everyone has something adventurous planned for their bucket list. Some adventures are based on food, others on travel. Some include both in one awesome adventure. I came across one yesterday and I’m proud to say that I added it to my list. Something I had never heard of, but apparently it’s a long-standing tradition that brings about a Paulo-Coelho-like insight to life. It wishes you a Buen Camino.

I want me some of that.

And it all happened because of Mr. Andrew Clark, Billy The Kid, Kirby Keger and Two Bit himself.

If you’ve never watched The Breakfast Club, Young Guns, St. Elmo’s Fire or The Outsiders you have no idea who I’m talking about, for those of you who have you know I’m talking about Emilio Estevez.

 

 

 

I recently watched his directorial efforts in the movie The Way, starring Martin Sheen. It’s a story about a father embarking on the Camino de Santiago pilgrimage in effort to find a connection with his recently deceased son and finish the adventure he started. The journey and self-discovery got to me and it got me thinking of doing something like this for myself. Some amazing travel adventure to add on to my future trip to Europe. A 500 mile trek across Spain ending in an amazing church in Santiago.

The way the film was shot, definitely sounded like my kind of adventure.

Kind of reminded of Reese Witherspoon’s latest Wild, which takes place on the Pacific Crest Trail, but I haven’t seen that yet. I imagine when I do it may inspire another adventure, one closer to home. But for now, I’m setting my sights on Spain and the journey where everyone I’ll encounter wishes me Buen Camino.

Any of you added something to your list?

 

20 Responses to “Buen Camino”

  1. mm4214 February 10, 2015 at 2:45 AM #

    I walked the Camino Frances last year from St Jean Pied de Port to Santiago de Compostella ( as in the movie The Way). It took my friend and I 33 days. (If you want you can read it on the blog- thetravellingchelle.wordpress.com ). I am hoping to walk a few weeks of the Camino Norte next year.

    I highly recommend everyone to take the Pilgrimage at sometime in their lives. It challenges your body and awakens your spirit of adventure and community. That is why I want to go back to capture the Camino feel again.

    Buen camino.

    • The Guat February 10, 2015 at 9:51 AM #

      Holy Crap! Thanks so much for stopping by I was hoping I’d run into somebody who’d actually done it. Dude can’t wait to hear your story! Thanks.

  2. susielindau February 10, 2015 at 7:01 AM #

    Nothing like being grounded to make a person chomp at the bit. You go, Guat!
    I would be happy to complete the Niwot Trail Loop in our neighborhood! I think it will be another solid month before that big 3 mile adventure will be accomplished.

    • The Guat February 10, 2015 at 9:53 AM #

      Ha! I know you can do it! You could probably dance your way around that trail when you’re feeling better. It could be a Rocky Balboa moment!

      • susielindau February 10, 2015 at 10:37 AM #

        I would love to channel Rocky! A few more weeks, I hope…

  3. cravesadventure February 10, 2015 at 10:53 AM #

    I loved this movie and I just watched another movie called Mile . . . Mile and a Half (about friends hitting the John Muir Trail and journeying along). I loved, loved the Wild book and movie too. Just love movies like these 🙂 Happy Day – Happy Watching!

    • The Guat February 10, 2015 at 3:10 PM #

      Duuuuuuude I was thinking about reading Wild but wasn’t sure, I really enjoyed this Estevez movie, and then I remembered the Reese flick was out. I was debating about it, but now that you gave it a thumbs up, I’m on it! Gonna pick up the book. Thanks for letting me know. Have a good one!

  4. brickhousechick February 10, 2015 at 7:50 PM #

    Buena idea y Buen Camino! You have the guts and the perseverance to do this, I have no doubt. 🙂 I love it when a movie inspires me like that. I did see Wild and it was pretty good. Right now as I lay in bed in my little island of PR, I can tell you I had a great camino here and am looking forward to a buen camino to the bar tomorrow!! Salud!

    • The Guat February 11, 2015 at 9:37 AM #

      Salute my friend! Hope the beach is making you smile.

  5. Drew February 10, 2015 at 8:25 PM #

    Hey, very cool that you’re thinking about walking They Way. I walked in 2012, and it was a life changer. If you go, don’t stop at Santiago. In the film he goes to Muxia, I believe, but Finisterre is what most consider the final destination. At the “end of the earth” by the lighthouse, you’ll see the final marker reading 0,00 KM. You can go no further.

    • The Guat February 11, 2015 at 9:41 AM #

      Duuuuuuuuude I am so glad to hear from people who have actually done this, gives me great hope that it is what it says it is … Life Changer. He did keep going went all the way to the sea to release his sons ashes. Very cool movie. So glad to hear from you and I’m thankful for the encouragement. Buen Camino!

      • Drew February 11, 2015 at 11:11 AM #

        Buen Camino!

  6. anotherday2paradise February 11, 2015 at 6:32 AM #

    That trek around Spain would be quite something to blog about, TG. I haven’t watched any good movies lately, but I keep busy with my own little daily adventures. 🙂

    • The Guat February 11, 2015 at 9:43 AM #

      It was a good I watched it on Netflix. Very cool. I do recommend it got me all inspired for this Bucket List item 🙂

  7. lameadventures February 11, 2015 at 10:38 AM #

    Guat, you and my sister share very similar taste in films. I’ll recommend this one to her. I prefer films more in the direction of “Birdman” which inspired to do nothing, but I still enjoyed it very much. I’m not a bucket list-type, but there’s a hidden gem of a subway station under City Hall that’s been obsolete since 1945, but one can visit it via a private New York Transit tour group. That is something I would like to do very much. Getting there, via subway and around $40 in ticket cost, is doable if you become a member of the transit museum and then pounce on a tour date when it becomes available (tours sell out almost instantly). This is something I just have to get around to doing, but I’ve conquered the cronut so I’m sure that this goal is attainable. It will likely be a Lame Adventure. The pictures I’ve seen of it show an architectural jewel, unlike my usual go-to subway station that on dirty winter weather days could almost double as a slum.

    • The Guat February 11, 2015 at 1:43 PM #

      Duuuuuuude that does sound like an awesome adventure, although I don’t know if anything will top that cronut adventure. That one was AWESOME. And I love Michael Keaton, movies like that often catch my eye too. I get inspired to do nothing all the time, but my kids won’t let me. But this Sheen- Estevez movie is a good one I’m sure your sister will like it. Netflix. Netflix.

      • lameadventures February 11, 2015 at 5:53 PM #

        I gave her Apple TV for Christmas. As soon as we set it up, Dovima joined Netflix!

  8. Jackie Cangro February 17, 2015 at 10:15 AM #

    Adding this to my Netflix cue now. I’ve read a lot about the Camino. Don’t know if I’d have the stamina to do it, but it sounds awesome.

    • The Guat February 17, 2015 at 10:38 AM #

      I totally bet you could … You had the stamina to write a book, you can do anything. Just need one of those big walking sticks and a killer mixed tape … playlist. Let me know what you think of it.

Leave a Reply

