I’m Sorry Goes A Long Way … I’m Just Saying.

5 Jan

It’s not something that comes easy for me.

In fact it’s probably one of the hardest things for me to do.

Forgiveness.

I trust people.

I take their word for it.

So when something gets broken it’s difficult to pick up the pieces, especially if I knew it was done intentionally. Accidents are easy to let go of, but things done on purpose … dude I’m no Nelson Mandela. And the thing is I have no problem apologizing if I’ve accidentally wronged or hurt someone. But I trip out on how hard it is for people to apologize. Even for the little things. It makes forgiveness so much easier for the other person, because in the end it’s all about the little things

I’m just saying.

Im-Sorry

So in an effort to begin spreading forgiveness, for letting the little things go, here are a few conversation starters …

For your wives/girlfriends …. I’m sorry about eating most of the Cinnamon Toast Crunch and then putting the box back into the pantry with like four squares left. Four squares don’t fill a bowl. And then … I didn’t wash the bowl. I didn’t even rinse it so that one lonely piece of Cinnamon Toast Crunch that was left over hardened as it attached itself to the bowl…which sat there until dinner time.

I’m sorry … I know exactly where the toilet paper is located but I fail to replace it every time it runs out, and if by miracle I do replenish it, I put it on top of of the old roll, balancing it just so it won’t fall off. I know that’s not its proper place but it’s so much easier to do and it takes a second, whereas doing it the proper way takes five.

I’m sorry … I just couldn’t get into The Bachelor … and no … the DVR didn’t malfunction and accidentally erased it.

For your husbands/dudes … I’m sorry I didn’t properly learn how to spot primo front-door parking at the bank, so I had to parallel park on the street and it took me at least 10 minutes over the allotted parallel parking time because I couldn’t get in at the right angle and this resulted in scratching the tire rim.

I’m sorry we had to go over to my mother’s when it was Sunday Night Football, and you missed an amazing playoff game by some guy named Manning, had I known her television was broken I would have let you know so you could have set the DVR and I would have promised not to listen to the news on the way home and let you know they won the game in overtime by something called a Hail Mary.

For your kids … I’m sorry that your blue and white princess dress … the one from Frozen … the one that Anna wore … the one that might have accidentally made it’s way into the laundry pile instead of the hand wash pile has now lost all the awesome princess glitter. It washed away, although some has found it’s way to your brother’s baseball socks, but you could wear the baseball socks if you wanted. On the bright side the dress no longer has chocolate stains on it.

I’m sorry … Disneyland wasn’t closed.

I’m sorry goes a long way … I’m just saying.

10 Responses to “I’m Sorry Goes A Long Way … I’m Just Saying.”

  1. oawritingspoemspaintings January 6, 2015 at 1:03 AM #

    It is nice to know someone else has the same opinion as I…
    I have no problem apologising & do not understand why others do, it makes it, as you say, all the harder to forgive, so I try to go along the flow of life but it’s not always easy!
    Thanks for the share 🙂

    • The Guat January 16, 2015 at 12:50 AM #

      It’s so easy to apologize right? If you know you messed up just do it. I just don’t understand it either. Going with the flow, you got it down. Thanks so much for stopping by.

  2. bgddyjim January 6, 2015 at 1:39 AM #

    Ouch! Mom’s on Sunday night with a broken TV is WAY worse than an “I’m sorry”. That’s bad enough to require opening the Victoria’s Secret drawer right there. Just sayin’ – and yes I would make my wife go there under those circumstances. No doubt about it.

    • The Guat January 6, 2015 at 8:57 AM #

      This scenario and the Bachelor thing actually happened to my friend. I was like you got to be kidding me. First off I would never go anywhere when my boy Peyton was playing…this is a House of Sports. Football. Hockey. Olympics … We’re on it. Second I would never watch or DVR the Bachelor. A lot of my friends like that show though. And if your lady made you go anywhere during playoffs that would call for a trip to the Victoria Secret drawer. Ha … That was a funny one. Have a good week!

  3. lameadventures January 6, 2015 at 11:14 AM #

    I think everyone needs to just wear princess glitter baseball socks and to be grateful that none of this caused anyone to die.

    • The Guat January 16, 2015 at 12:51 AM #

      Glitter baseball socks! Dude that one cracked me up! Love it! I think we all would be happier. I know my kids would.

  4. teachezwell January 7, 2015 at 7:10 PM #

    That’s funny and true! Have you been secretly recording my life???

    • The Guat January 16, 2015 at 12:52 AM #

      Ha! I know right? I tell you sometimes you just wish the “I’m sorry,” would just come out when you needed it. Ha. Glad we were both in this one together.

  5. Apple Pie & Napalm January 8, 2015 at 6:36 PM #

    I love a good train wreck but I cannot get into The Bachelor. I just can’t do it. And I’m proud of that.

    • The Guat January 10, 2015 at 5:50 PM #

      Duuuuuude I can’t stand any of the bachelor stuff or other reality crap out there. But I imagine there are husbands out there that are probably saying this just for the sake of peace. And that NFL blunder would never happen in my house.

Leave a Reply

