Finding Your Turning Points

1 Jan

It was the only thing I really asked of myself.

My only aim last year was to have more Super Soul Sunday moments.

I knew for a fact that my environment wasn’t going to change and I knew the people around me were set in their ways as well, so I realized I had to do something different, something that would change the blueprints of my life, something that would keep my Happiness Project running, and more Super Soul Sunday Moments seemed like a pretty good idea.

I loved these moments. I felt re-energized after them. I felt more like myself. I felt unbroken.

So how could I keep them coming? How could I get this feeling?

By living with one mantra.

“Clear eyes. Full hearts. Can’t Lose.”

I know you’ve heard me say it. After the monster binge watching session in December 2013, Friday Night Lights had changed my perspective. The characters, the story, and their future flipped the switch somewhere inside me. It’s helped me stay in that Thelma-&-Louise-this-is-going-to-change-my-life-today-kind-of phase.

That was the plan.

And somehow in between all the beaten down, weary, frustrated and lowly Ben & Jerry depressed days, I had made it.  Clear  Eyes, Full Hearts, Can’t Lose had made a shift in my morning, noon, and night. It had made it to my Hour-of-Power in the morning. And I was not just surviving despite the circumstances, I was thriving.

And one of the moments that just intensified that don’t-give-up attitude, was an amazing book I read.

 

Unbroken

Unbroken

 

I can’t even begin to tell you how amazing this book was to experience. You’ve probably seen the movie posters all over your town publicizing the picture. But if you haven’t seen it I encourage you to read the book before watching the movie. If you absolutely cannot wait, I understand. I do. The fact that it’s a true story blows your mind, and the book gives you a deeper understanding and connection to him, what he went through, and how he survived it.

In short it’s the amazing story of Louis Zamperini, a troubled kid who turned his life around and found a way to make it to the Olympics, only to get drafted afterward and become a Japanese Prisoner of War. But what was most amazing was not the fact that he and fellow POW Russell Allen Phillips survived 47 days on a raft at sea, it was the fact that he endured unimaginable hardships at the POW camp and survived.

Somehow Louie found the strength and courage to endure the most horrific abuse of the body, human spirit, dignity, and mind at the hands of many Japanese guards. But he found a way to thrive. He found a turning point.

And when the war was over and he was suffering from Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder, depression, night terrors, and anxiety he found a turning point. Again.

It truly was a great story of “Survival, Resilience, and Redemption.”

The very fact that he found turning points during the most difficult points in his life, was inspiring.

I rooted for his survival, I rooted for his spirit to remain in tact, I rooted for him after the war. I rooted for him to turn it around, and he did. I rooted for him to remain unbroken through it all. The most amazing parts were seeing how he turned it around.

I felt so happy for him in the end, and was extremely grateful for being able to read his story at this point in my life. It put my own journey in perspective and reminded me to remain unbroken, to never give up. Everybody has turning points, everyone. Just takes courage and strength to find them.  I was happy that Louie found his and grateful that he inspired me to find mine.

So that’s the goal this year … to find my turning points.

 

 

 

 

 

9 Responses to “Finding Your Turning Points”

  1. anotherday2paradise January 2, 2015 at 6:36 AM #

    Sounds like a most inspiring book, TG. I’ve just put it in my wishlist. Good luck with finding your ‘turning points’ this year. 🙂

    • The Guat January 2, 2015 at 9:50 AM #

      It is an amazing book! Definitely worth the read. I strongly recommend it and the movie for those that don’t want to read the book. Definitely need to hear his story.

  2. susielindau January 2, 2015 at 7:50 AM #

    After I read the book, I Googled Louie. What an amazing man. He became an inspirational speaker and died in LA last summer at 97! Talk about a survivor!

    • The Guat January 2, 2015 at 9:49 AM #

      I know right! And he ended up going to SC too. It was such a great book!! Definitely making it to my top ten! Did you see the movie?

      • susielindau January 2, 2015 at 11:14 AM #

        No, but the complaint has been that it is too Hollywood. I’ll see it when it is on Netflix or Cable, Showtime, HBO…. I hate it when they ruin books. The best adaptation was Hunger Games.

      • The Guat January 3, 2015 at 12:00 AM #

        I was interested in checking it out, just like I was with Life of Pi, and I actually liked it, don’t think they made it “Hollywood”, thought the guy they cast as Louie was really good The only thing I wished for was that it had more … I know it’s a movie and you can’t put everything in it, but just wanted more. Then I thought duuuuuude could have been one of those 10-part series on HBO, like Band of Brothers or The Pacific. Dude that would have been amazing … awards probably dropping from the sky. But then I think Louie deserved the Big Screen, but 10-part series on HBO sounds pretty amazing. Could have covered more. Never read Hunger Games, but best book-to-movie that I ever saw was Malcom X. Duuuuude three hours long and definitely captured everything in the book.

  3. marcosdepaiva January 2, 2015 at 6:13 PM #

    Quando olho para o 2014 vejo que muitas coisas poderia ter feito para que minha vida e a de muitos fossem diferentes. Portanto, 2015 deve ser um ano de decisões firmes e bem direcionadas. Deixar de dar valor as circunstâncias e valorizar mais os propósitos e intenções que existem dentro de mim. Um feliz ano novo para você.

  4. Apple Pie & Napalm January 2, 2015 at 11:43 PM #

    I’ve had trouble getting into Nashville because I can’t ever shake the feeling that Rayna is cheating on Eric with Deacon. Dude, it really bugs. I want Kyle Chandler to knock on the door and whisk her away.

    • The Guat January 3, 2015 at 12:05 AM #

      Ha! That’s too funny. Ms. Taylor was a great character and they had such great chemistry. Love me Kyle Chandler and waiting for his next project. But I am an avid watcher of Nashville, I like checking out the country star drama, but mostly I’m just rooting for Deacon.

Leave a Reply

